We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muse
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Perched over the MacLaren falls, our two restaurants offer dramatic views and a true gastronomic experience with menus based on a traditional French and Quebecois style, using local produce with exciting international influences.Muse, our fine dining restaurant, is open daily for breakfast and dinner. On Sundays, enjoy our famous Sunday brunch buffet from 9am-2pm. For something more relaxed, the Heron Room restaurant offers a Wine and Tapas bar alongside a popular bistro menu. The Heron Room and adjoining Bar Lounge is open daily from noon and features live music on Fridays and Saturdays from 7-10pm.Please visit our website for our most up to date menus.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You will never be disapointed while staying at Wakefield Mill Resort. The service is exceptional & the staff is very friendly!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Therese A, Lovely of you to post photos of your time with us! The river was running fast, the snow has disappeared and the plants are beginning to shoot. We only wish we could have delivered you sunny skies along with your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Limited menu but everything on it that we had was excellent. Service is very good friendly and attentive. Comfortable with a very pleasant location near a waterfall in an old grist mill. Modern fare with flair. Definitely would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank zekeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear zekeOttawa, Thank you for making the short drive from Ottawa to visit Muse Restaurant and for taking to the time to express your satisfaction with the meal and experience you received. We are just in the process of changing up our menu for the Spring, so it is hoped that on your next visit, you will find some new offerings to tempt your palate. Again, our appreciation for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have eaten here several times before and were really disappointed this time. The food was incredibly slow (apologies were made and excuses given) and the food was average at best. At other times not worth eating. My guess is that the chef has changed or it was a very bad night for them. Eat at the Village House instead- now that was a good meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear AmaAriane, We value very much that as a previously satisfied patron, you chose to visit with us again. We can only add to the apologies you received the night of your most recent visit. It is of little consequence that a staff shortage on the night of your visit impacted upon your experience. We are on the cusp of launching new menu offerings under new executive chef Che Chartrand with the hopes that we might once more entice you the next time you come to Wakefield. Again, thank you for your past patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We are regulars to the mill and had yet to dine for diner at Muse since a not so good experience in 2009. We decided to try it this time around, considering Che Chartrand was their new executive chef. From the moment we arrived, the service, presentation and taste of food was amazing. A step way above any other dining establishement nearby.. with a view too!!! Our server made the experience even lovelier by stepping it up with his wine recommendation, and constant attention to our needs. Unfortunately, we cannot recall his name (Jylen, Dylen?? very tall, accent!). We will return and recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear BIGtraveller66, how nice of you to let us know about your enjoyable dining experience at our Muse Restaurant. We have good news for you, and better news. First, the good news: yes, executive chef Che Chartrand is indeed at work in our kitchen. Now the better news: Che's new menu is about three weeks away so there is something for you to look forward to when you return. However, several new dishes are being previewed already, and you may have been the delighted guest who enjoyed one. As for your table service, we believe you were under the care of Béjan. We are forwarding your kind comments to both the maitre d' and to M. Chartrand. On behalf of all the staff in our kitchen and dining room, thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Our spacious room was very nice looking out onto the parking lot with a treed hill behind it. The 2 person tub was really nice. The only complaint is that the bed was a little too soft for liking.

It's worth the drive from Ottawa just for the food! The food in all the eating places was excellent!

There was some noise from the parking lot and the people above us, but it was not too bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Wayne W., thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Wakefield Mill. We're glad you enjoyed the two person tub and the room with a view. We are hoping you were lucky enough to see our resident wild turkey who seems to have taken a liking to our property.

We recently welcomed a new head chef to our establishment, so your enthusiastic commendation of the meals you enjoyed is great news. Our restaurants are a particular point of pride, as is our staff service.

Again, thank you for commenting and for visiting with us. We hope to see you again when you are up this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing