We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasent experience”
Review of Muse

Muse
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Perched over the MacLaren falls, our two restaurants offer dramatic views and a true gastronomic experience with menus based on a traditional French and Quebecois style, using local produce with exciting international influences.Muse, our fine dining restaurant, is open daily for breakfast and dinner. On Sundays, enjoy our famous Sunday brunch buffet from 9am-2pm. For something more relaxed, the Heron Room restaurant offers a Wine and Tapas bar alongside a popular bistro menu. The Heron Room and adjoining Bar Lounge is open daily from noon and features live music on Fridays and Saturdays from 7-10pm.Please visit our website for our most up to date menus.
Montréal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasent experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was a wonderful place and we enjoyed every minute of it. We stayed there for 4 days and we used the spa facilities and had most of our meals there. We took as 3 day package and enjoyed fine dinning at night. The spa services(massages, facial etc.) was first rate. There are a few walking and biking trails in the area and since the weather was nice we took the opportunity to do some hiking. A great getaway for both of us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pmrec53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear PMrec53, Thank you for your recent comments and for coming to stay with us from Montreal. The weather has been incredibly hit-and-miss lately, so we're glad that it allowed you to take advantage of the hiking in the Park. Thank you too for your compliments to the kitchen and the spa – we will let them know. It was our pleasure having you as a guest. May all your getaways be well spent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    71
    38
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You will never be disapointed while staying at Wakefield Mill Resort. The service is exceptional & the staff is very friendly!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Therese A, Lovely of you to post photos of your time with us! The river was running fast, the snow has disappeared and the plants are beginning to shoot. We only wish we could have delivered you sunny skies along with your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey but exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Limited menu but everything on it that we had was excellent. Service is very good friendly and attentive. Comfortable with a very pleasant location near a waterfall in an old grist mill. Modern fare with flair. Definitely would go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zekeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear zekeOttawa, Thank you for making the short drive from Ottawa to visit Muse Restaurant and for taking to the time to express your satisfaction with the meal and experience you received. We are just in the process of changing up our menu for the Spring, so it is hoped that on your next visit, you will find some new offerings to tempt your palate. Again, our appreciation for your review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mediocre food saved only by the service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have eaten here several times before and were really disappointed this time. The food was incredibly slow (apologies were made and excuses given) and the food was average at best. At other times not worth eating. My guess is that the chef has changed or it was a very bad night for them. Eat at the Village House instead- now that was a good meal!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear AmaAriane, We value very much that as a previously satisfied patron, you chose to visit with us again. We can only add to the apologies you received the night of your most recent visit. It is of little consequence that a staff shortage on the night of your visit impacted upon your experience. We are on the cusp of launching new menu offerings under new executive chef Che Chartrand with the hopes that we might once more entice you the next time you come to Wakefield. Again, thank you for your past patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
289 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We are regulars to the mill and had yet to dine for diner at Muse since a not so good experience in 2009. We decided to try it this time around, considering Che Chartrand was their new executive chef. From the moment we arrived, the service, presentation and taste of food was amazing. A step way above any other dining establishement nearby.. with a view too!!! Our server made the experience even lovelier by stepping it up with his wine recommendation, and constant attention to our needs. Unfortunately, we cannot recall his name (Jylen, Dylen?? very tall, accent!). We will return and recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear BIGtraveller66, how nice of you to let us know about your enjoyable dining experience at our Muse Restaurant. We have good news for you, and better news. First, the good news: yes, executive chef Che Chartrand is indeed at work in our kitchen. Now the better news: Che's new menu is about three weeks away so there is something for you to look forward to when you return. However, several new dishes are being previewed already, and you may have been the delighted guest who enjoyed one. As for your table service, we believe you were under the care of Béjan. We are forwarding your kind comments to both the maitre d' and to M. Chartrand. On behalf of all the staff in our kitchen and dining room, thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing