We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered from Beginning to End”
Review of Muse

Muse
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Perched over the MacLaren falls, our two restaurants offer dramatic views and a true gastronomic experience with menus based on a traditional French and Quebecois style, using local produce with exciting international influences.Muse, our fine dining restaurant, is open daily for breakfast and dinner. On Sundays, enjoy our famous Sunday brunch buffet from 9am-2pm. For something more relaxed, the Heron Room restaurant offers a Wine and Tapas bar alongside a popular bistro menu. The Heron Room and adjoining Bar Lounge is open daily from noon and features live music on Fridays and Saturdays from 7-10pm.Please visit our website for our most up to date menus.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I wouldn't normally use the word "pampered" for a restaurant but that's exactly how I felt. The service was excellent and we decided to treat ourselves to the Discovery Menu (7 tasting plates) selected by the chef...surprise! Not knowing what was coming next was half the fun. Yes, it was expensive but it was a wonderful and great way to celebrate or treat yourself to a night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AuroraSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear AuroraSky, Thank you for leaving a separate review of your experience at Muse. The Discovery menu is for gastronomic enthusiasts, truly a special treat to oneself, and we are glad that you enjoyed all the unexpected specialities that the head chef prepared for you. Again, we thank you for staying with us and for exploring so much of what The Mill has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not sure about the rest of the food, but the fish and chips we ordered were certainly substandard. The fish was dripping with grease while the fries fared no better. Included with the meal was a salty cabbage slaw. Price was reasonable, but who cares when it is practically inedible. The shrimp salad we ordered was somewhat better but nothing to rave about either. Hopefully the other items on the menu are better prepared.

Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Carmen W., thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We regret very much that your choice of meal fell short of your expectations, and you are correct that regardless of price, you should have been satisfied. We are unable to determine if you made your disappointment known to your server, or if any alternative was offered. It is unusual for our cuisine to not meet a customer's approval, but when it does happen, we certainly wish to make every effort to leave you feeling more satisfied. Again, our regrets. Thank you again for letting us know. Our kitchen has been notified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Wakefield Mill in March and liked it so much, we came back again. Our dinner at Muse was once again absolutely delicious, from appetizers right through to dessert! Thanks again for a lovely dinner experience ... we'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timeforreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Timeforreview, you have left us wonderful comments that will be enjoyed by our kitchen team, thank you so much. Between your March stay and your most recent visit, our menus changed, and so we are delighted to hear that your latest sampling did not disappoint. Again, thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We came here for lunch. The restaurant was almost empty. The waiter seemed overwhelmed like it was his first day on the job. We weren't in a big hurry (which turned out to be a good thing) so it didn't really matter. When we finally did get to order, we had the soup which was a lovely, creamy, minty green peas summer soup garnished with watercress. It was delicious. However, the plates they use are huge and the tables are really small (we were at a table for two). So there was no space to put anything once we had our drinks and basket of bread. We ended up moving flowers, candle, salt and pepper shaker to the window ledge by our table. Which provided a lovely view of the river I might add. My friend ordered the sun dried tomato flatbread which was delicious. For dessert we ordered the Cranberry Pie. We waited, we waited, we flagged our server down who told us it was coming out shortly, we waited, we waited, finally about 20 minutes later we flagged what we think was the manager down, who finally told us the Chef was just baking the pies so they weren't available. They very nicely let us choose another item from dessert menu which they comped. I was more amused than irritated. They also failed to come by an refill our coffee when we finally got our dessert, so I had to flag them down for that as well. Food was good, the restaurant was not busy so really don't understand why the service was so bad. It is a pretty spot, the view is lovely, and the ambience in the restaurant is nice. Not really tons of choice in Wakefield, so I would come back again....just don't go if your in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear JoBrampton, First, please know that your comments are gratefully received and are being reviewed by our service manager and team so that we can immediately prevent the types of delays you encountered from being repeated. We apologize for these difficulties, and appreciate the graciousness you showed in communicating them to us. Thank you also for letting other readers know that the food was satisfying, the view pleasing and the efforts our manager took to compensate for your wait times noted.

Your visit coincided with a new menu and new staff, both in the kitchen and in the dining room. Delays resulted from several factors, including the desire to ensure the plating was perfect and approved. Regardless, there was no excuse for keeping you and your company waiting. We are taking measures to more stringently train staff in improved and proactive communication, responsiveness, and menu knowledge. And we have upgraded the computer system to eliminate the gliches that saw order details get dropped (although in your instance, as one of very few guests at that time, this should not have been a factor.) Again, you were very kind in your manner, and in leaving a detailed post that we can work from. We do look forward to seeing you again, with pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I love Wakefield Inn. Less than an hour from Ottawa, the drive is gorgeous (except for the roadwork which requires you to stick-handle around to get into the village - will be easier once the highway is completed), scenery beautiful, and walking trails a good workout. Booking is easy, whether online or over the phone (great personal friendly assistance). Staff is very helpful and pleasant; rooms are lovely (modern "Scandinavian" feel in the eco-lodge to more traditional feel in the main inn); and then there is the FOOD! Every meal we have ever had there has been outstanding, from presentation to creativity to taste. Our only problem is that we are way too FULL after a rich 4-course dinner! So rather than booking the dinner package option, we have recently been booking a bed & breakfast package so we can enjoy lighter dishes in the bar/lounge (watching a game on tv or shooting pool or snuggling by the fireplace or listening to live jazz...so many options!), and save our big meal for the next morning. Breakfast is great but Sunday brunch is amazing (although some dishes could be a bit hotter).

The hot tub outside the spa area is a lovely place to relax if you don't mind the sound of the raging falls...but further down the trail are Adirondack chairs where you can sit in the trees and just chill with the water in the distance. The spa is beautiful with the old stone walls of the mill visible; I've only ever had one massage there and it was great.

The hot tub by the pool near the eco-lodge is also nice - whole different feel on that side. First floor rooms have a little patio where you can sit and enjoy a quieter river atmosphere.

Been there during all seasons - great no matter what the weather. Hope to "get away" there again in the near future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Guest Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear AnneS, We are truly grateful for your glowing and generous recommendation of our hotel. You have touched upon so many of the features that make up our property, and we are glad that you have discovered them and enjoyed them fully. We've noted your icon and the meditative image it depicts – were you here recently to know that we now are offering yoga classes daily on our spa terrace by the waterfall in fair weather or indoors in MacLaren House? It is open to both guests and drop-ins. There is another change that will be in place within the week that we think will be of interest to you and other guests – several mains from the table d'hote dinner you described as enjoying in Muse Restaurant will now be offered à la carte upstairs in the Heron Room and bar lounge.

Again, our great thanks for what appears to be your first Trip Advisor review. We are thrilled that we inspired you to make that effort, and we look forward to seeing you and hearing from you again. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing