We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most enjoyable stay”

The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Market Drayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 10 Market Drayton B&B and Inns
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed in the twin en suite room on the first floor at the front. It was a nice room and quiet, considering it looked out onto the main road. The place is very handy & no more than 10 minutes walk from anywhere in the town centre. There is just enough free car parking at the back of the house. Breakfast was ample and cooked to perfection. It MUST be borne in mind that the current owner has only been there a few months and that some of the more negative reviews prior to July 2011 do not apply today. The room I stayed in could have been a little neater, but no doubt it will be sorted before long. I would happily recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandbag164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

New ownership has taken over this month, and they're working hard to adjust to be gracious hosts and smooth out the kinks of running a business. Located on the main road coming into town from Loggerheads, parking is down a lane to the rear of the building. &30 for a single bed and breakfast, bedroom located on the third floor, toilets down the hall. Bedroom was large and airy, furniture okay, but - BE CAREFUL - the cord/plug for the hot water kettle is heavy and could pull the whole unit off its perch. B&B is adjacent to the main downtown area of this town, with a very short walk for groceries, and only a little further to a whole series of pubs. The morning meal was a gorgeous "full English breakfast" with lots of tea to wash it all down.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Travelled up from Cornwall and arrived at the B&B around 6.30-7pm for 3 nights. We were met by Kim the new manager, we found Kim very friendly. The room was the family room and it was large, clean and very comfortable even with four beds. We all slept well and had a great breakfast each morning. Our room had tea, coffee, water and biscuits and fresh towels each day. There were also blankets in case of feeling cold and an extra fire. We were given the key to the main door so we were able to pop back if needed. We really enjoyed our stay and would deffinately recommend The Hermitage B&B to our friends and family. We also own a B&B in Cornwall called Manyviews in Bodmin and we plan on recommending this B&B to our guests as well. Good luck in your new venture Kim.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb-kernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
213 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I thought the Guest House was very good value (£35 ensuite single) and it was in easy walking distance of the town. My room was large and had all the usual tea/coffee etc and a very comfy bed. The en-suite was quite small (loo & shower) but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was very good and you could help yourself to cereals extra toast etc.

I turned up on a bicycle (!) so didn't have the parking problems others have complained about. I was able to put my bike in a secure indoor area, for my peace of mind (not every B&B offers this facility).

Again, I was happy, as I was not expecting 5* facilities for the price I paid!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I had a fab time. The room was lovely and well equipped with tea coffee and hot choc facilities for me to use. The breakfast was great and was done to my requirement as i don't like some foods so was very surprised as some people get funny about changing it. so all in all great stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Had a lovely time. The house is lovely, our room had everything we needed, tea coffe even biscuits,water and a chocolate. Breakfast was very generous ate the lot!. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphnebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The owner seemed to lack any social skills and when trying to communicate with her would look elsewhere and start running her fingers across the woodwork as though she had no interest in speaking to us.
We were quickly shown to our room and then the owner walked off whilst still talking to us, I had to follow her on to the corridor so I didn't have to shout to communicate back.
We were asked to fill in a registration form which she seemed not to understand herself.
The room although large seemed dank and was finished to a very poor standard. The bathroom in particular was a very bad DIY job, the door would not close. There was also quite a gap in the wall where a fan had been fitted, so much so that daylight shone through. The whole room smelt of cheap toilet cleaner.
For breakfast we had cereal followed by scrambled eggs on toast, all the ingredients seemed very cheap and bland. Our eggs were extremely over-cooked and the portions were also small.
We paid £60 and felt loathed to pay it, the place should not have a three star rating. We saw another B&B across the road (The Old Dairy) and wished we had stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldr1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Market Drayton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Market Drayton hotels
0.2 mi away
Tudor House Hotel and Restaurant
Tudor House Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 10 in Market Drayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ternhill Farm House
Ternhill Farm House
#1 of 10 in Market Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Four Alls Inn
The Four Alls Inn
#4 of 10 in Market Drayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tern Hill Hall
Tern Hill Hall
#2 of 2 in Market Drayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rosehill Manor Hotel
Rosehill Manor Hotel
#3 of 10 in Market Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 44 Stafford Street, Market Drayton TF9 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Market Drayton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing