We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal for eight.”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Small village pub in Cheswardine, a small village just outside Market Drayton. Serving Joules Real Ales, a selection of fine wines, spirits and draft beers. Home made, Home cooked food. Locally sourced and cooked to order. Food available Tuesday - Saturday 12.00pm - 3.00pm and 6.00on - 9.00pm and Sunday 12.00pm-3.00pm. No food on Mondays. Please contact us for details of Bank Holiday Monday opening hours.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal for eight.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We tried out this pub last Saturday evening after having it recommended to us by the owners of our holiday cottage. Great atmosphere and very friendly owners & staff, nothing was too much trouble. Brilliant food, especially the ham hock pie!
Highly recommended, give it a try if you're in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top Nosh”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Pub in lovely village setting. We dined on a Friday evening our meal was top class and all chosen from the specials board. The meal surpassed any top restaurant meal by miles, lovely locally sourced ingredients.. Can't wait to visit again very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gromit56607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Hearing this pub had new owners and new chefs I decided to come In for dinner. Myself and my father came in we both had food off the specials which were incredibly good value! I had chicken with mushroom risotto and green veg, the chicken was perfectly cooked especially the crispy skin! My father had lamb beautiful flavours and falling off the bone! Such an inviting little pub with lovely staff and tasty food! Will certainly be back very soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jones196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb pub grub.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We intended to dine in another local hostelry which we found had closed. Luckily for us, a local pointed us in the direction of the Fox & Hounds where we had a warm welcome and efficient service. The food is excellent and the portions generous. Will most definitely be calling again! Thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belgianbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food. Nice start to a holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself and my parents decided to take a narrowboating holiday. Prior to picking up the boat, we stopped at the Fox And Hounds in Cheswardine. Situated beside a picturesque church, on arrival we were warmly greeted by the landlord who took our drinks order. As we had our Border Collie with us, we sat outside and ordered some food. Incidentally the friendly staff even offered to carry our drinks to the table. As we were hoping to eat later, we just ordered some baguettes. What came was marvellous. I kid you not,they filled us up. Along with the baguettes came potato wedges and salad but not boring lettuce type. It was perhaps the best meal for that's what it was( it wasnt a snack) that calls itself a baguette on a menu. My parents had the tuna-i had the steak. . Totally delicious and fully recommended. The landlord and whom i presumed was his wife run a good ship. They and their staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Had a nice chat with them. Stopping here was the perfect start to our holiday. ( i must say i answered no to whether it was best meal ive had ina restaurant- this only because im comparing to steak, salmon full meals- if comparing to other baguettes it was. Food was great value and tasty. Fully recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Pipe Gate, Market Drayton
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing