We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014”
Review of Wharf Tavern

Wharf Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May 2014”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

stayed there twice now - eaten in pub twice and have not been disappointed - good value. Very clean friendly site but only 1 shower "cupboard" for the ladies so I would imagine it gets very busy. Good value for a weekend camping trip. Lovely walks along the canal. Not a site for children who need entertaining as only a swing for them - didnt bother us as we have none!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fliss1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    73
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fair value and clearly popular...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

...but is that enough?

We happened by on a Sunday for lunch (boat holiday) - very, very busy but a table was found within ten minutes.

Children's menu OK - not the most exciting but all appeared fresh and tasty, our four adult meals (2 x roast plus a scampi and lasagne) were fine if unexceptional. Roasts at only £8.50 each hold a risk but these were good value, so well done pub for not squeezing too hard.

The pub itself is a bit timewarpy, but as said it is evidently well patronised so they are attracting trade. Staff were good and the beer likewise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank seeitonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food but "Pricey"”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A last minute call to the Wharf as it was nearly end of service for lunches. Very busy indeed and saw lots of reservation tables so thought this must be good. yes it was good but in my opinion "too pricey" for a Sunday Dinner. Others may argue that the price is right but it depends on individual s financial status. If you are thinking of trying this place out perhaps reservation is necessary and probably best to reserve your selected meat choice. We were a group of four and three of us wanted "lamb" but unfortunately it was late in the afternoon and the lamb was gone. We all opted for "beef" instead. Meal was nicely cooked and served very quickly considering how full the place was. If you have a large appetite don't expect many potatoes my plate had two roast and one boiled potato on it. The Wharf has a lovely outside area and really beautiful scenery you can either sit and watch the barges go by or walk along the tow path. You will enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good meal and service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Maybe not the best food ever but a hearty meal, served promptly, with a smile and at a reasonable price. Mind you I have worked 23 locks that day and had a good appetite!!! Lovely canalside location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the boat house holiday cottage and had a fantastic stay the cottage as everything you need for self catering it's clean comfortable and is a great location for walking cycling or visiting nearby attractions the food in the pub is excellent and they're generous portions not yet managed to finish one of the plates of chips , there's a good selection something for every taste all round great place to visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 144ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharf Tavern also viewed

Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 

Been to Wharf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing