We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Market Drayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goldstone Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We booked Goldstone Hall as a treat to ourselves and it more than exceeded our expectations. From the warm welcome on arrival to our departure the staff we very friendly and attentive and were always there just when we needed them. Our room (though not a superior one) was lovely with a view over the gardens and had a lovely bathroom with a huge bath and separate shower and the huge bed was super comfy! Dinner on both nights was delicious and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs at breakfast sublime! As for afternoon tea, the perfect end to busy days exploring the local area and beyond. We don't live close enough to visit often but hope to come back in the future. Thank you to all the team for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alymoorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked in for afternoon tea for a friend's 60th birthday, and couldn't have been more impressed, the whole ambience of the hotel is beautiful, the staff were attentive and helpful and the choice of sandwiches and cakes on offer were wonderful. The scones in particular were the best we've ever tasted. We were invited to take a walk around the picturesque gardens, and even on a autumn day, were exquisite The cost of afternoon tea was extremely reasonable, I would highly recommend Goldstone hall to anyone, in fact we're booking to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJones-lant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The staff very welcoming and friendly, the food wonderful (a lot of the veg comes from the garden), homemade cookies in the room, the beds really comfortable, I could go on. Definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank allyd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We recently visted the hotel and from the start we could not fault the setting, it's tranquil and picturesque. Beautiful gardens and a massive maintained veg patch which makes them pretty much self sufficant for cooking!
We stayed in a standard room which was clean, with good views, tea and coffee facilties, walk in shower, huge two person bath but could have had a higher level of decor. We paid £160 for a night with breakfast, now it was a fantastic breakfast but I cant help but feel the rooms are over priced for what they are, I would expect to pay more £120pn.
Now the food was out of this world with their AA awards and Michelin chef I can see why. The best fillet of beef I have ever eaten! Service was first class silver service the girls were a credit to the hotel.
Overall a fanatic hotel which provides wonderful food, just a tad over priced on the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just been here for Sunday lunch and cannot praise the venue, food, gardens or service highly enough ... We will definitely be back... Beautiful house and furnishings... Could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I have just come come back from a 2 night stay at this perfect country retreat. A truly fantastic small hotel set in the middle of the beautiful countryside and in a magnificent setting. The food, accommodation, staff etc etc etc were excellent and we shall be going back in the near future. Suggest that you get a room on the garden side as those on the side of the lane do not have anything like as good an outlook.
Dont forget to make friends with the owners black labrador, it loves to chase the windfall apples across the lawn. The gardens are truly spectacular and the huge kitchen garden is a must see for any veggy lover.

Room Tip: get a room on the garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Once again a fantastic experience at Goldstone Hall. This was a return visit to celebrate our anniversary (yes 1 year down and still amicable) and again it didn't fail. If you have never visited this little gem of a hotel then please do so, (p.s I am not on commission, if only..........., now that's got me thinking............. ) you will not be disappointed. If you do manage to pay them a visit, keep your eyes open as it took us both three attempts to find the building the first time around. It is tucked away behind a large stone wall and down a long country lane, its as though the building is trying to hide from the crowds and reserving itself for those that appreciate good quality in all forms and the finer things in life (they even have individual towels to dry your hands in the cloakrooms, now not very environmentally friendly, but you don't get that at a Travelodge!). The building itself is not only grand (although it appears not so from the car park) but beautifully appointed and has stunning gardens, including its own vegetable/fruit gardens, which is where most if not all of the kitchens fruit and vegetables that they serve on your plate come from. The food is exquisite, the wine selection mammoth and the hospitality second to none. John, Sue and the team invite you in to their building and give you a big hug (not literally, that would be just weird) as though you are part of the family and you have 'just come up for a visit' (or down dependant on where you live obviously) and that feeling continues throughout your stay. I am not saying that they get that close as to ask how your bunions are doing or whether little Jack as got it together yet with little Susie or even ask how that last interview went with the witch you call a boss, or is the other way around? What I am saying is that they are a lovely bunch of individauls who know how to make your stay perfect, it is a though they have mastered the art. When we have stayed we have always pushed the boat out a little extra and booked the squiress chambers, this is a room that you could get lost in, no not the size of a closet and totally dark but sumptuous and light and huge and I mean huge. The bed alone would fill a four bedroomed detached home and the bathroom could double as the changing rooms for a Premiership football match. The tea and coffee making facilities are even touched with homemade cookies baked in the oven downstairs, ground coffee and a selection of tea that hasn't been seen since the military command left India. Robes, slippers, flat screen Tv, etc etc the rooms have the lot. The only negative would be due to the nature of the building and its substantial old walls, the rooms do get warm, even in winter when the heating isn't on (see told you I wasn't on commission). The numerous rooms downstairs are delightful and charming varying in styles and taste and offer the chance of a drink near the bar, or a cup of tea and a slice of cake in what we call the Wedgewood room (you will see why). There is the lovely oak panelled drawing room and the orangery where hearty and tasteful breakfasts are served using local meats and the sort, as well as evening meals. A walk around the gardens is a must, with a woodland trail and the ability to meander through the fruit and vegetables that you may later have the pleasure in eating. Just don't be tempted to pinch any Strawberries on your way around as John and Sue have been seen out in the garden 'hoeing' to late into the night (sorry to disappoint but not that sort of country lane). I believe I have only given you the best points about Goldstone Hall, well that's because there isn't any bad points. Yes it may be at the top end of some peoples spend for accommodation (including ours) and yes it may be difficult to find the first time around and yes they don't necessarily have the most eco friendly drying facilities in the downstairs cloakrooms, but hey live a little, you only live once and if you only ever visit one place to spend a night and a meal or even just a quiet drink choose this one, you wont regret it. If you do, I didn't tell you to go!!!!.

Room Tip: The Squire's or the Squiress chambers are the most sumptuous we believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Drayton
22.6 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
488 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
13.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
16 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,319 reviews
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldstone Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstone Hall Hotel

Address: Goldstone Road, Market Drayton TF9 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Drayton
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldstone Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning rural hotel & restaurant. Over 30 years we have built up a reputation for quality dining and comfortable bedrooms in beautiful gardens. The power driving the menu of this "classic but never fusty" country house hotel is its vast and beautiful kitchen garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldstone Hall Hotel Market Drayton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing