We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
184
19
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
19
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasconeswedding venueattention to detailkitchen gardenpetit foursfirst classsunday lunchcountry housepre dinner drinkslovely surroundingshidden gemon arrivalbirthday cardcream teahuge bedstaff attentive
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We decided to have a special afternoon treat for 2 separate birthdays. Having visited before for lunch and a dinner and an overnight stay over the last few years, we were very pleased to find that the high standards of Goldstone Hall were still being maintained. We were served a beautiful afternoon tea by two delightful young ladies with even a birthday card from the management. We were on the terrace under a gazebo, just brilliant. The gardens of course were spectacular as usual, worth a visit just to see the gardens. p.s. Don't eat a lot before afternoon tea !!!

Room Tip: They all appear to be very good !
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

A gem of a find down country lanes from the A41 near the Tern Hill roundabout. south of Whitchurch. Well signed and good directions from their web site The Goldstone Hall Hotel brown signs get you to the front drive and into the spacious hotel quickly. Friendly caring staff direct you to your table inside or out and with the present fantastic weather are easily able to transfer your coffee arrival table into you luncheon space with practiced skills.
Lunch was good, well presented and tasty from a compact menu . Service pleasing and not overpowering with our satisfaction concerns .
The gardens are wonderful and provide a serious final course to the menu. A walk through the lawned area showed off the vast ranges of plants and flowering shrubs which have been developed over the years successfully by the hard working gardening staff and hotel owners . A vast kitchen netted garden provides suitable stock for the daily meal service. Goldstone Hall manages its attributes fully and well and am sure we will be returning after our splendid first visit

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank bern60ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Went for afternoon tea a few days ago. It is such a lovely setting. The afternoon tea was really lovely.Plenty to choose from and well presented. The staff were really helpful and polite, nothing was any trouble.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We had to head down to London on a last minute trip and decide to stop off halfway. I wish we’d stayed longer. We arrived late at night and the staff couldn’t have been kinder. There had been a dinner on and it as clear that everyone wanted home but the willingness and welcoming smiles we got when we asked for toast and tea quite staggered us. The room itself exceeded all expectations. Breakfast was memorable. I take my black pudding seriously and if I’m candid it’s more often than not a let down. This one was a blinder. A showstoppingly good one. The proprietor is an extremely jovial sort and youn can tell he takes his hostelry seriously. Full marks here.
We’ll be going back. I

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EdinburghRoryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Fabulous country house hotel with great service and excellent food. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable with lots of little extras like freshly ground coffee on the hospitality tray. Beautifully kept gardens. The perfect place to catch up with some very special friends.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews