We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoada Campsite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grootberg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grootberg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Outjo
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hoada Campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic campsite with really helpful and friendly staff. Campsites are all isolated so you dont see anyone else, and the morning/ evening fires are lit at each site for your own hot water. Lovely deck up in the rocks to have a sundowner. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    170
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
126
336
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful gem in the middle of an even more beautiful country, which must be one of the most peaceful places you will ever come across! If you are into photography, you will fine some of the nicest rock formations, trees and sunsets. If you should decide not to go because of the fact that there is no power, you would surely miss out. The campsites are beautiful, with private shower and toilet facilities with HOT water provide by a "donkey", which is by the way not an animal as my kids had though initially! The next time I will definitely stay there more that one night. Thanks to the friendly and helpful staff ..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kleinvlooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful experience, amazing staff at the hotel and excellent guides on the tours.
The rooms are individual small bungalows with the most stunning view of the Klip Canyon.
The road up there is challenging in a 4x4, but they offer shuttle service for the last 1,5 km.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Line B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is one of the best views in Namibia that you can have from your chalets, right on the cliff edge on top of the Grootberg plateau. An unbelievable view out over the gorge and you can look at the Milky Way from you bed. We stayed here for three nights.
Very good food and the singing staff was sweet and very friendly but maybe not the best skilled.
We got the sight of our first elephants in Namibia on the Elephant Tracking, we can also recommend you to take a trip to the Himba village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backman189836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were truly impressed by Grootberg Lodge. Upon arrival, we were not expecting the steep climb in 4WD from the main road, but it is not surprising when you discover the spectacular view from the restaurant and indeed from each of the well-appointed bungalows which serve as accommodation. We particularly liked the fact that the lodge was run by the local conservancy and many of its community proudly worked here. They welcomed us on every occasion with a permanent smile and offered a very professional service. The quality of the breakfast and dinner included in the package was impressive, especially given the remoteness of the location. While there were many activities proposed by the lodge, we chose to explore the surrounding area and found a day trip to Twyfelfontein and the nearby Petrified Forest very manageable. A stay at Grootberg Lodge will be a memorable experience; be sure to arrive in time for a Sundowner on the restaurant balcony, camera in hand!!

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have a similar level of quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atgani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hoada campsite (operated by Grootberg) and were blown away. The campsites are enormous and totally secluded; you get a sense of genuine isolation (as if Damaraland didn't do that enough on its own!). The setting is beautiful amongst the boulders and the private toilet and shower to each site are built in seamlessly. Hot water comes twice a day when the staff come around and light the boiler (you'll wake up to it already lit). The pool and "boulder top" bar offer spectacular 360 views of the majestic landscape; sunset up there is a daily must. All staff were wonderful to deal with and I can't praise them enough.

As for the lodge itself, we booked the rhino tracking with them and it was really an amazing experience. After seeing many rhinos at Etosha, we weren't sure how much this trip could add but it really blows the waterhole viewing out of the water. The guides were fun, professional, knowledgeable and genuinely nice people. The drive out provided beautiful scenery and when we spotted a rhino and its 1.5 year old baby after 2 hours or so, we jumped out and tracked them on foot.

It wasn't a difficult walk but a basic level of fitness is required. Given the temperamental nature of the animals you're dealing with, it's wise to listen to the guides and follow their instructions. The drinks and lunch afterwards were a delight and everyone had a brilliant and unforgettable experience.

We returned via the lodge (we only stayed a couple of hours) and all I can say is WOW what a view! They also had very nice and cheap cocktails at the bar and staff that seemed to love what they do and always have a smile on their face. The conservation initiatives conducted by the lodge are admirable and I cannot give enough praise of this establishment... both the lodge and Hoada campsite.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

It is difficult to describe how wonderful Grootberg Lodge is. The amazing views from the lodge and from each individual cottage is truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Getting to the lodge takes some patience because it is located in the northern part of Namibia. requiring driving on gravel roads. The last quarter-mile which is a steep ascent to the lodge itself was a challenge, but our four-wheel-drive Toyota was up to the challenge.
The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and each having a view into the canyon. Pictures do not do justice to the amazing and incredible scenery.
The highlight of our trip was the visit to the Himba tribe. The village, which was located approximately two hours from the lodge, was in one of the most remote areas I have ever seen. It was truly a privilege to see and share their culture.
If one is going to Namibia, one should make the special effort to visit this Lodge, see the tribe, and experience the incredible scenery of northern Namibia.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Outjo
9.5 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#6 of 14 in Damaraland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
126.6 mi away
Sophienhof Lodge
Sophienhof Lodge
#6 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.9 mi away
Etotongwe Lodge
Etotongwe Lodge
#1 of 3 in Outjo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
131.9 mi away
Sasa Safari Camp
Sasa Safari Camp
#4 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootberg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootberg Lodge

Property: Grootberg Lodge
Address: Outjo, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Kunene Region > Outjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Outjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grootberg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grootberg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootberg Hotel Damaraland
Grootberg Lodge Namibia/Outjo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing