We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice" try...”
Review of Hotel Gloria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uruguaiana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gloria
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Uruguaiana
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Nice" try...”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived in Uruguaiana for a very short trip (just for two days) and as there are just couple of strange hotels on booking.com we were planning to stay at the best and the oldest one - "Gloria". As we arrived early around 10am we wanted to leave our bags and start exploring the town. However, on receiption we were told to come back in couple of hours. It is not nonsence for us as it is not always available. Nevertheless they did not look overbooked - it was low season and it was completely empty. Non-flexible at all! After couple of minutes in internet-cafe we found another hotel - "President" in 5 minutes by taxi. Quiet different - modern, spacious rooms, clean (except the swimming pool area lol), breakfast with the view from the top of the building and flexible enough to check-in earlier with no questions. We have got a suite!... Some businesses like Hotel "Gloria" are stuck in the past. I recommend the business owners changing their focus to the customers' needs rather than being proud of being the oldest and unflexible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VassiliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
7
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

NOT.... Sorry....


I lived in URG for about 5 months. The Gloria is a pearl in the middle of this fronteir border town in Brazil.

The hotel is old, the rooms outdates, the beds make noise and the TVs....? Well some rooms have flat screens.

It doesnt smell tough and for being this far into nowhere, it is a 5 star. Believe me...

The people are pretty helpful and polite. All people from the south of Brasil are. The breakfast, average but average means that fruits are fresh and juices aren not from a box. The bread is freshly baked. You should think that compared to any US hotel chain like Holiday Inn, the GLORIA is 1000 stars... Aside from payper view which will get here in 2030....

The hotel is in a good area and in the next corner you will find the main shopping areas (wich kinda s uck... jajaja).

What is cool about this city? Let me knwo when you find out. To be honest, I ate some of the best river fish in my life there (called the "traira")

Room Tip: Any rooms in a hotel in a smal city are pretty good. No noise at all. Sometimes you miss the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The place is friendly and situated in the central area, it offers a welcome stay on the way to foz de igauzu. the hotel has its own parking area which is guarded. the rooms and bathrooms are very basic, but beds are comfortable and clean. the breakfast was very good with fresh juices, fruits, toasts etc
the so called luxury rooms have windows facing the street and not the backyard. the price for luxo duplo o casal was around USD90 euro, which is a high price for basic comfort (standard rooms are USD75) in the city in the middle of nowhere. if you pass through this area, u are better off on the argentinian side - higher value for money for example in posadas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo, sp, brasil
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Located in the center of the city of Uruguaiana, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil. This is a very nice hotel, looked old-styled, but very well maintained. Very clean room. Nice and helpful staffs. Great service. If you come to this city, must ask for the best BBQ restaurant (churrascaria) in town.

  • Liked — the staffs.
  • Disliked — no internet in the room.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uruguaiana
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#1 of 5 in Uruguaiana
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Uruguaiana
89 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Rio Uruguay
Hotel Casino Rio Uruguay
#1 of 1 in Paso de los Libres
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#1 of 5 in Uruguaiana
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fares Turis Hotel
Fares Turis Hotel
#2 of 5 in Uruguaiana
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solar Dos Tchuccos
Solar Dos Tchuccos
#5 of 5 in Uruguaiana
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria

Property: Hotel Gloria
Address: Rua Domingos De Almeida, 1951, Uruguaiana, State of Rio Grande do Sul 97501-633, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Uruguaiana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Uruguaiana
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloria Brazil/Uruguaiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing