We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Phonix Hjorring
Nearby Hotels
Motel Nordsoen(Hirtshals)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skaga Hotel(Hirtshals)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munchs Badehotel(Hirtshals)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
4
18
25
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
18
25
14
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We staied in this hotel for one night on our way through Denmark. Since we have 3 children, we were very happy to see that we could all stay in one room, and still have space left for suitcases and other luggage. The bathroom and room was newly renovated and very clean

We got a room to the backyard, which was very quiet, and all 5 got a good night's sleep. We are returning to the hotel the next time we take the ferry to/from Hirtshals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurine190462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Staff were pleasant enough and the hotel looked good enough from the outside. The only plus points were that it had it's own car park and it was near enough to Hirtshalls to catch an early morning ferry.

The room was very 'tired'. A number of the lightbulbs didn't work. The level of maintenance was poor. The floorboards were very creaky. The bathroom very dated, seemed grubby and there was no soap or shampoo. The fittings were poor and the placement of fittings left a lot to be desired. It was a very dark and airless room. The situation was noisy to, with an all night party in the building across the street, still in full swing when we left at 05:45 the next morning. I had to give 1 for sleep quality but that was too high!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2006

I booked this hotel through the Danske Kroer & Hoteller site., one of the largest hotel operators in Denmark. Hotel Phonix was described very nicely and had 3 stars. When we arrived we learned that every bit of information on that site was deceptive. Among the problems we found:
(1) The clerk didn't have our reservation and had to scramble for a room to put us in;
(2) Our first and second room (we requested a change!) were both extremely dirty!
(3) The shower curtain had fungus growing all over it;
(4) There was old soap on the bathtub obviously left over by the previous guest and not cleaned up;
(5) Bathtub had stains in it -- dirt stains;
(6) The walls of the room had touch up paint everywhere;
(7) A huge colony of mold was growing right beneath our window. With no air conditioning and unable to open the window (we have allergies to mold), we spent a restless night.

We had reserved for two nights but left after one. Thankfully there was a Scandic Hotel that had availability near to where we were so we went there. Please stay away from Hotel Phonix in Hjorring! We paid $120 USD for that filth.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MVGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgitte M, Direktør at Hotel Phonix Hjorring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews