We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Morghen
Nearby Hotels
Villa Valori B&B(Settignano)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
30
11
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
11
9
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at the Villa Morghen for just under two weeks and loved it. It sits just outside of Florence in olive garden country. The view of florence and the countryside is beautiful. It's location is quiet and peaceful. The walk to the bus is short and transportation to florence is easy. Trails, fig, peach and walnut trees, and a soccer field surround the villa. They serve wonderful dinners, pack you sack lunches, and serve you breakfast. They are very accomadating towards vegans, vegetarians, and allergies. All of the staff are friendly. Love exploring this place. The villa is attached to a beautiful church and the basement has a ping pong table. Great place to hang out including the computer room. Although the rooms are clean, the bathrooms could be cleaned a little better.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing South or West. They have the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bassetteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I love this place. I came with a group of students, and we, like anyone else, enjoy the city. Being up here, far above the noise, the dirt, and the bustle of the busy streets below is fantastic. We eat, sleep, meet, and enjoy each other in peace, but at any time, we can walk briefly up the hill and go to town on the regular bus. The only disadvantage is that the last bus is at ten-- too early sometimes.

The rooms were clean, the service was great, and the villa itself is a very cool place to stay. I would definitely come back here, whether I were writing or painting, or adventuring into the city or the hills. Either way, i'm going to miss coming back to this amazing view and these lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnabasAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff at villa morghen are superbly helpful and quite amicable. The grounds are quaint and the view of Florence is splendid. My group was provided with three meals a day: breakfast, a bag lunch, and dinner. One night, we were even invited to take a cooking class and prepare our own dinner, Italian style. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff, I will say again, are stupendously friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Villa Morghen is located 15/20 minutes by bus outside of Florence (bus is frequent and on time!) but check for location of bus stop in Florence as it seems to change from railway station to Pzza San Marco. keep an eye out for the sign to get off at the nearest bus stop or you will have to walk back from the village. Villa Morghen does have a great view of Florence but it also had - when i was there very noisy American cultural exchange students that paid absolutely no consideration to any other guests. Rooms price was too much for what was in my opinion a very basic room but everything was clean. Breakfast which is included in the price was very sparse. Try and make it to Villa Gamberera in the village which has one of the most spectacular gardens in all of Italy and a view of Florence that is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingdomDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This has to be one of the best views in the world. Being in a cultural center, it is also a great environment for meet a great group of international folks. The place has been recently renovated, but in many rooms, there are remains of centuries old frescoes. The beds are just fine and there are ensuite bathrooms. Just a few steps away from Villa Morghen is a wonderful cafe (Desedeiro, I believe) and some nice little bars. There is also a lovely gelato shop. It is a quick bus ride down to Florence on the city bus number 10.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bcravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews