We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Unobtrusive”
Review of Hotel Conterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Conterie
Ranked #4 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

First time staying in the Venice region and it will not be the last. Be found this hotel because it was firstly cheap and secondly it was away from the main hustle and bustle of Venice.

Finding the hotel was not to much trouble either. Just head for the long bridge (obvious when you see it) and when you are over it turn right and then just before the CoOp turn left down the quaint street then right past the abandoned glass factory past the two chimneys with ladders up the sides and the hotel is on the left. The hotel is very quaint, small but clean rooms and pleasant staff. As you are basically using it as a place to sleep whilst you explore you couldn’t ask for more really.

A lot has been said about the inadequate breakfasts and it always make me laugh when visiting locations in Europe where you are not paying a lot of money because basically I believe peoples expectations are to high! If all you are after is some cereal, a roll and a hot croissant and a cup of coffee or juice then you are well catered for. If you are looking for a full cooked breakfast served to your table with menus and cotton table clothes then look else where and pay four times the price.

Marino is quiet at night and there is only one decent friendly restaurant/bar our of the four I would recommend which is around the corner and not on the main canal stretch with Pizzas to die for! Also try to get to the café in the little square that is open for locals during the day. It doesn’t look much but it serves the best coffee.

One tip is that being on the island if you go to the south of Venice for a meal at night then you will find it hard getting a boat back to the island after 10pm. You can catch a night boat that goes around all the other islands and is in someway romantic if not a bit spooky.

One last comment is that the venetians like their church bells that wake you up at 7am with a random cacophony of bell ringing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRichKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Conterie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Locanda Conterie is situated a stone's throw from the Museo stop on the AcTv water-bus line. The foyer and halls had a very upmarket feel.

Upon arrival, my girlfriend and I were greeted by a lovely receptionist, who showed us to our room, and very kindly offered to carry one of our bags for us.

We were presented with reasonably sized room which was very clean and quiet.
The view was slightly hindered by a building undergoing some reconstruction across the street. That being said, the courtyard 10 yards from the hotel entrance was gorgeous.

The power shower helped to wash off the grime of an early flight.

Breakfast was not great, but I think we missed some of the nicer foods as we were a little late and more seemed to be on the way out as we finished. A variety of pastries, bread, cereals, bacon, ham, and cheese was on offer.

The aforementioned receptionist looked after our bags whilst we spent our final day in Venice, and was very accommodating when we wanted to nip in to get sun glasses etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in Room 12 which was very large with Queen size bed. As others have said, the blown glass chandeliers and wall sconce's rival those found in the Glass Museum nearby. The bathroom was on the small size and hot water slow to come through. Let the hot tap run for 10 mins. before going in the shower.
Breakfast was standard fare with fresh bread rolls each day, choice of two cereals, chocolate and plain croissants, preserves, fresh fruit cocktail ( I suspect tinned). Hot drinks machine giving a wide choice of coffees etc.
Staff were most helpful, giving detailed directions to where-ever we wanted to go.
The island is very quiet on an evening when all the tourists have left.
Bear in mind there is a 40 min. boat trip to and from Venice from the island. We found this most enjoyable. Others may not.
If your holiday doesn't include airport transfers, get your ACTV travel card from the airport for the length of your stay, pay the extra for coach transfer to Venice. A number 5 bus will take you to Venice Piazzale Roma where you can catch either waterbus 4.2 or 4.1 to Murano. Get off at "Museum", turn left off the bus, pass the Co-op and take your first right. At the end of the road turn right again and at the fork, turn right. The hotel is on the left.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham_Y0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The decor of the room was beautiful, although slightly worn. All the light fixtures were blown glass. The hotel is conveniently located on the island of Murano and it is easy to get to and from the multiple waterbus stops. The breakfast that was served was average and included dry cereal, croissants with a variety of spreads, and other pastries. The island of Murano was a delightful place to stay. After about 5:00 PM all the visitors leave and you're left with a quiet, sleepy town with some great dining options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Spent 4 nights here over Easter 2012 and cannot honestly recommend the hotel. The room was exceedingly small, although we are aware that this is "normal" for Venice. The bathroom was so small in fact one had to straddle the toilet bowl to access the shower, making it extremely dangerous when the area is wet. The room was very clean and the public areas were attractive.
Breakfast was included, but this consisted of tinned fruit, packaged croissants, and machine dispensed juice, all self service.
The first morning we encountered no cereal bowls, but we did notice others eating small fresh bread rolls, but there were no more forthcoming when the meagre supply ran out. Unfortunately the waitress could not speak English, so we visited Reception to ask if there were any breakfast cafes on the island.
Perhaps charging a few more euros could encourage the management to at least provide more at breakfast as there are few options at that hour on Murano.
In saying that we loved the island, each evening when all the tourists returned back to Venice we felt we had it all to ourselves. We wandered the area almost alone. We found a small bar/cafe near the canal behind the hotel and visited there on two evenings. With little English the owner/barman provided a good meal with great service. Local Muranese men visited there at dusk to discuss the day, have a quick drink and then head home. We felt we were experiencing the real Murano, and would stay on this island again but not at Locanda Conterie.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbyJ729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights and had a very negative experience.
Bath room very cold with rust in the shower. We found some holes in the bedspreed, very old television and very expensive wifi Service (5 euro per hour!).
We Will never come back ...when having a shower cold water flows for 5mins and hot water for 2mins very bad .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day stay & having read the reviews before, arrived in reception with a little trepidation. However quite the opposite experience ensued with a friendly response from the receptionist & considering it was 10am we were shown where to leave bags & freshen up as the room was understandably not ready yet.
I cannot understand some of the negative comments in earlier reviews, yes the room was small, the breakfast was fast food & the island was quiet on a night but as my review title says it was a 3 star hotel & if the island was too quiet then go back over to the jammed side streets of Venice. I for one was pleased to get away from Venice & the night life or lack of it is hardly the hotels fault.
Overall I found the experience just what I would expect for a 3 star establishment & would recommend this hotel to others who have realistic expectations. I often find that those who do not are either from "across the pond" or better suited to cruising around the Med on a floating deathtrap or possibly both!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mackemdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,387 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#144 of 384 in Venice
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#319 of 384 in Venice
565 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 384 in Venice
2,135 reviews
Hotel Al Soffiador
#3 of 5 in Murano
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conterie

Address: Calle Conterie 21, 30141 Murano, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range: £42 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conterie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Conterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Conterie Hotel Venice
Hotel Conterie Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing