We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming with a wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Conterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Conterie
Ranked #4 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
laurel, maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming with a wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived in the morning after a long transatlantic flight and were pleasantly surprised to find our room ready and waiting. Everyone that we encountered in this hotel was gracious and wonderful and always eager to help out. The room was a tiny bit small for 3 people but it was beautifully decorated in old world charm. There was construction next door that began at 7 AM every day, but we were usually up close to that time anyway. The bathroom was small but ok and the windows opened wide for a wonderful afternoon and evening breeze.
The hotel was a short walk to the center of Murano which was very convenient. Murano is a beautiful place but just about everything shuts down around 5:00 PM except for 1 great restaurant by the waterfront. Other than that, the island was quiet and beautiful and filled with places to eat and shop. The Murano glass was beautiful and we were not pressured in the least bit to buy anything. It was a short vaporetto ride to venice so it was easy to come and go.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and a stay on Murano for anyone coming to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    129
    73
    42
    22
See reviews for
36
191
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We were on a small room on the second floor. The ceiling is old and it looks like you have a band of Flamenco-dancing elephants on top of you. Murano is a very quiet island...but our room reached ibiza levels of noise.
Reccommended only for those trying to push the limits of insomnia.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank corlenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murano hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Situated on the quiet island of Murano away from the hustle of the main part of Venice, this was much cheaper than most hotels near St. Mark's Square. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful setting on a small island this is ideal. It is a little bit of a boat ride to the main parts of Venice but you can shop and see glassmaking demonstrations on the island. The hotel room was very spacious, comfortable and dark in the morning thanks to great Venetian blinds that keep the sun out. The breakfast was also quite good. I would stay here again but be aware of jumping frogs at night just outside the entrance!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlenihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Paola and Valentina were wonderful - warm and helpful! Great women! Always helpful and guided us :) The hotel was perfect - out of the busy areas but nothing was far- we loved our stay and would go back in a heart beat! The breakfast was perfect - simple but got us started for the day and the coffee, oddly enough, was the best we had

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaelyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent value for money, including breakfast, very close to vaporetto stop, takes only 30 min to Venice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned and tidied on a daily basis. Room interior was very nice, typical Venetian style. Murano was very quiet and much more relaxed than Venice, however definitely not as lively and not many restaurants were opened until late, neither bars. Communication with the hotel prior to our arrival was poor as I have sent two emails within the month before our arrival and received no answer. Also we asked for a double bed but got two separate mattresses over it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toumayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here with my friend last year for a week. The hotel was cute and the rooms were clean. At a very low cost we were truly happy with this hotel. It's in Murano, and Murano is a much cleaner and quiter part of Venice.. it'll take you about 25 minutes with a vaparetto to get to the very center of venice, but however we truly enjoyed and appriciated staying in a quiter and cleaner location!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I got this hotel not knowing Murano was in the vicinity of Venice, so it was about a 10-20 minute boat ride to get anywhere in Venice. The island is small, but it's lovely during the day to walk around and see the local shops. There was this bakery a little old lady ran that had amazing breads and cookies. However, close to sunset, the island shops would close, so we would have to take the boat to Venice to get dinner or do anything.

The hotel rooms were very small, and were okay when it came to comfort. The staff was friendly, and there was a computer to use. The breakfast wasn't good at all. It consisted of some pretty generic stuff, so we just gave up eating it. I wouldn't stay there again, but I'll say I paid for what I got. I would definitely recommend visiting the island though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talia_gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murano
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#128 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Hotel Al Soffiador
#3 of 5 in Murano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conterie

Property: Hotel Conterie
Address: Calle Conterie 21, 30141 Murano, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conterie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Conterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Conterie Hotel Venice
Hotel Conterie Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing