We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Romorantin
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have been using this hotel for many years. The welcome is always warm, the rooms are comfortable and the restaurant superb. It is particularly pleasant to eat out in the courtyard on a summer evening. The food is interesting, the portion sizes sensible and the service immaculate. Here is a chef of great experience and ability who is still innovative and who produces dishes of the highest quality using a combination of local ingredients and techniques and spices from everywhere. The wine list is impressive. Particularly good are the local wines bottled especially for the hotel, or sourced from smaller local winemakers. Breakfast is a delightful combination of fresh juices, breads and jams. All of this does not come cheap, but pricing seems sensible and reflects the current climate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
20
94
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the grand hotel lion d'or in the little town of Romorantin 8 years ago, and we were captivated by the fine cookery of the great chef and owner Mr Didier Clement as well as by the graciousness and hospitality of his lovely wife. This year , when they celebrate their 50th anniversary of family ownership of their lovely estate, the Clements keep on servicing happy clients in fine accommodation and superb dinners.
We had the great pleasure of staying in the hotel and dining in the chef's restaurant (1 Michellin star or 3 goumlot hats rated) for 2 days in May 2013.
We stayed in room 17 on the First floor overlooking the courtyard with a big tree that had the greenest leaves of spring and chirping birds also having their little bird house made for them. Our room was spacious nicely decorated with mirrors all over and good lighting fixtures giving you a real royal feeling, not to mention the lavish bathroom with a power shower, his&hers sinks, with ample space to put your personal toiletries, as well as hangers and even a stool- so you are really comfortable, and don't have to pile your staff somewhere and frantically look for the needed item, like it happens in hotel room without a good ergonomic planning.
The public areas of the hotel are also pleasing to he eye as well as comfortable and enjoyable to stay. Though , the hotel does not offer a spa/ swimming pool the atmosphere is relaxing and you feel that you are on a holiday. The charming Mrs Clement takes care of the details starting with the beautiful flowers in green and white that give a relaxing and festive ambience to her place, while her very talented spouse is in charge of the excellent restaurant of the hotel.
To conclude the review, we had an amazing stay at this lovely residence, dined for two nights in a row to manage all the menu had to offer, and still crave for the future dinners prepared by Mr Clement that has the magnificent talent of creating dishes using local ingredients with traditional cooking methods of the highest degree with the unique flavors of the place ( see the enclosed pictures of the courses we had)

Room Tip: A room with a view on the internal court is very lovely, and you don't really need the extra bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gstaad, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The food was divine, the wine list incredible and the service was very friendly and efficient. The room was very practical and very clean, bathroom had all you needed. The breakfast, that we chose to have in the room was very generous, everything was fresh (juice and fruit salad) and the pastries and jams were excellent! Bravo and thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstaad320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a beatifull room with terrace, very comfortable. Staff very friendly and of course food superb, especially served on the terrace. Also having breakfast on the terrace is a beautiful experience.
Theay also have thier own parking place with valet parking

Room Tip: Room number 8 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I make no bones about this being the finest dining experience I have ever known.

We both ordered the same from the 40 euro set menu.

What followed was 7 courses in total, although we had no need for dessert. (I lose count whether that would make 7 or 8)

Each course was prepared with such precision from the higest grade ingredients. Each and every element clearly expertly chosen to compliment the next. Tres minimal, tres francais and truly majestic. It would be hard to find something so sophisticated for this price in the UK. I havent found anywhere yet or anything close.

The entrees, the shrimp, the lobster, the seabass, the duck. All quite simply to die for.

If youre in the area and you want the finest cuisine in existence then this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here as part of our visit to the Chateau de la Loire. For a relais de chateau, the rooms were ok. When we arrived, I did not think it look like a relais chateau at all, but once you step inside the courtyard, it was prettier.
My husband and I had one with a balcony overlooking the courtyard where all the meals were served in mid August. I thought the staff was very sweet, courteous and gave us excellent service. Our children had a smaller room with no balcony which was just ok. My son had forgotten his jacket in the closet and when we called them, they promptly mailed it to us while we were in the south of France. The breakfast was so yummy at the hotel. They have an excellent local honey and jams that were fantastic.
One night, we splurged and had dinner in the restaurant. It did cost us an arm and a leg - 600 euros for 4 people but it was an experience to remember. Funny thing is that they give the menu with no prices to the ladies and only the men got priced menus- French sexism?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenting3876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stopped at this hotel on our way down to Biarritz. It is part of Relais & Chateaux so we were expecting something special in terms of accommodation but our room was really basic and very pricy. The dinner however was excellent and we had a good evening. Some very interesting dishes with mushrooms and lovely wine. Breakfast was also good but expensive. In summary too much money for a good dinner if there is a next time we will pick hotel in town and have dinner there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichRens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romorantin
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Romorantin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#3 of 6 in Romorantin
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Lanthenay
Le Lanthenay
#1 of 1 in Romorantin-Lanthenay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Domaine de Valaudran
Domaine de Valaudran
#1 of 5 in Salbris
251 reviews
17.0 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
414 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Vierzon
Ibis Styles Vierzon
#1 of 8 in Vierzon
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or

Property: Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or
Address: 69 rue Georges Clemenceau, 41200 Romorantin, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Romorantin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Romorantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing