We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dinner Experience”
Review of Walkgard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukoba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walkgard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bukoba
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner Experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel because we were staying with friends, but we toured the rooms and had an excellent meal. The cook there is excellent and prepared several delicious Indian dishes.

The view from the outdoor restaurant over Lake Victoria at sunset was world class. It was absolutely incredible.

Service was a bit slow, but we weren't in a hurry and it was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wastedwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The hotel might not be the greatest but considering you are in Bukoba... it is decent. The rooms are tiny but clean. Facilities are lacking but staff are extremely friendly. The walk down to the town is beautiful!

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 608annsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The facility looks good.Its meals are fair and their service is average,even though a cup of coffee could take 45 minutes to serve,when we were only 2 Guests in the Restaurant!The management should think of refurbishing their swimming pool which is out of order.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the nice aerial view of Lake Victoria and its islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyachwayageoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Walkgard managed to amaze me on the great view of the lake, amazing multicultural food, clean and quiet surrounding, and exceptional service. My family and I were there for 5 nights, we stay at their downtown hotel 1 night and the rest at the hill top. Both places were very nice with two different atmosphere. Their tourism service to the islands on Lake Victoria and mainland was adventurous. I was shocked on how much we actually enjoyed the hotel and amenities.

Room Tip: The fish is fresh and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I have visited the Walkguard Hotel on several occassions over 2009/10 but never stayed overnight. The staff were generally helpful and the hotel was clean. The view over Lake Victoria is outstanding.
There is a good selection of curries.
The highlight is the small swimming pool which was generally open and cleaned. Excellent for a Sunday lunch with curry and beer. Unfortunately in the dry season in 2009 the pool was not open for 2 months!
One can use it as a nonresident for about 3000 Tsh
Prices(2010) single Tsh 30,000, double 40,000Tsh, Twin 45,000Tsh
(it is situated about 2 kilometres outside the centre of Bukoba with the Kolping almost opposite and the Balamaga B and B just up the road so all are generally not disturbed by party noise from the town)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rupannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bukoba hotels
0.0 mi away
Bukoba Kolping Hotel
Bukoba Kolping Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bukoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perfect Hotel
Perfect Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bukoba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiroyera Backpackers Beach Paradise Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victorious Perch Hotel
Victorious Perch Hotel
#4 of 14 in Bukoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
ELCT Bukoba Hotel
#2 of 7 in Bukoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkgard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkgard Hotel

Property: Walkgard Hotel
Address: Maruku Rd, Bukoba, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kagera Region > Bukoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bukoba
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing