We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb hotel with its own character.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Platys Gialos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Platys Gialos
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Platis Yialos
Certificate of Excellence
Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A superb hotel with its own character.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

For all those who watched Greek movies of the 60's, this hotel may be considered as a movie scene. A magical ambience of the elegant past available to be lived 50 years after.
Very picturesque hotel that sets its self to non comparable standards since it has unique features that no other place can offer. Simple architecture blending with the islands' lanscape characteristics, artifacts everywhere, a stunning view of the beach, a quiet relaxing night atmosphere and private beach amenities available within a few steps from the hotel gardens.
The hotel is run by the family that owns it and the staff make every effort to make you feel at home and believe me I would love to call this place my home for a few weeks every summer!
We stayed a total of 5 nights with our young son and upon our arrival we were told that our room was not available because the customer who occupied it, extended its stay for another 2 days. Instead we were offered a magnificent suite for the whole of our stay at no extra cost!
We have stayed in lots of hotels in many Greek islands and this hotel ranks as no 1 in our preferences.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cypri0t_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I could not have asked for a more friendly, hospitable, comfortably stylish place to unwind and relax - the setting was simply beautiful. Dimitris and his family excelled themselves in their desire to make everyones stay as pleasurable as possible - nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were simple & clean with fresh linens & towels (including beach towels) Breakfast was a feast of fresh produce. The first morning we asked for a jug of hot milk and thereafter one was always brought as we sat down.
We moved from sun to dappled shade in the garden and on the beach. A gem. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: They are all lovely and have a sea view - the ground floor rooms are only accessible from the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our family of six (three generations including young adults in their twenties and an 84 year-old) stayed four nights in this hotel and felt that the needs were met for all of us. The location was ideal at the end of the cove, providing a serene atmosphere on site, with road and beach access to the town’s tavernas and markets right from the property. We were looking for a Greek island experience that would be less commercialized and more about the Greek culture and we found it. The hotelier (Dimitris) and his lovely fiancé (Leah) were the perfect hosts, going out of their way to make our stay comfortable and meaningful.

The rooms were clean and crisp with décor that showcased interesting family artistry; the breakfasts were consistently good; their beach area, common areas and rooms had wi-fi; and nooks and crannies for sitting and relaxing were plentiful.

Beach towels, kayaks, snorkels and masks were available to borrow at any time; beach chairs and umbrellas were set up along their beach; a ping-pong table was set up outside under shade for anyone’s enjoyment, and anything else you might want or need was only a request away.

Without a doubt, we ended up in the best hotel possible on this beautiful island, with hosts that couldn't have been any more pleasant and attentive. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to Sifnos.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichStac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Sifnos is not that easy to get to for the independent traveller and none of the big travel companies go there. But this is GOOD! If you make the effort to get there you will find that it is not overrun with tourists like many other islands. The best resort on Sifnos is Platys Gialos and the best hotel there is the eponymous Platys Gialos Hotel. The management and staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable with excellent air conditioning and the facilities are first rate.

Room Tip: Room 33 has been used for visiting presidents etc. Ground floor rooms have direct access to the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We had a double bedroom, it was newly renovated, en-suite and very clean! It also had a balcony with amazing views. In fact, all rooms have balconies and breath-taking views. It is a very relaxing, family run hotel, full of character (paintings on the wall, nice furniture, modern feeling throughout the hotel yet full of traditional Aegean items).

Staff was very polite and pleasant; breakfast was very rich and fresh (we were even offered hand-made jam, made the very same day by the owners!).

We met some of the other guests that go there for holidays for many consecutive years and I can understand why as we really fell in love with this place. Would definitely go back, we had an amazing stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diasoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Hotel Platys Yialos is a terrific find on an island quickly increasing in popularity but still small enough and traditional enough to get a genuine taste of the Greek isles. Reading the older reviews I cannot help but believe that thie hotel msut be under new ownership. Our experience here has been fantastic. The hotel is well-located in the best Bach in Sifnos. They offer free breakfast which I highly recommend. Contrary to a previous review there was always butter and jam on the breakfast buffet and if anything had run out it was quickly replenished upon request. They served fresh fried eggs on the bar and had the most fantastic hand-squeezed orange juice.

Another reviewer mentioned there is free wifi in the common areas but not in the rooms. We found the free wifi accessible from everywhere in and around the hotel and even on the beach and an adjacent tavern. Sifnos is generally well-connected, the island sponsors free wifi in many areas a this has helped us greatly to keep our phone use down.

The rooms all have beautiful views and there are sizes to meet all needs. Our room was kept impeccably clean. There are safes in the rooms large enough for a small laptop. But you could leave it out, our electronics and personal items were never disturbed.

Bur the best thing I can say is how wonderful the proprietor is. He was a concierge of sorts, helping us to make arrangements. He was especially helpful when my sister threw her back out and could not attend the family wedding with us. The proprietor helped us to find the right medicine for her and even checked on her while the rest of the family was at the wedding. That was very kind of him - not expected but very much appreciated. My only negative comment is that the showers in some rooms are a bit small but that is par for the course in Greece.

Sifnos is a wonderful small island with an authentic taste of Greek island life. And this hotel was perfect for our stay. It wasn't the Ritz, but then again we neither wanted nit expected it to be .

One note of caution: if you do not have a car, make your bus or taxi arrangements well in advance as they tend to get booked around the ferry times. But Hotel Platys Yialos is very walkable to dozens of shops and restaurants located on the beach. I highly recommend lunch or dinner at the adjacent Restaurant Mezodopoleion. Excellent food at reasonable prices and just a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaJane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

This was a great location for a family vacation— the beach was only steps from our room and we played by the water at least twice a day. The sand there was clean and the water is beautifully turquoise, clear as crystal and as calm as a lake. The hotel had kayaks to borrow, umbrellas, towels and lounge chairs set up on the beach, all for free.

The hotel itself felt more like an inn than a full-scale hotel—minimal but personable staff, rooms comfortable but not luxurious. No room amenities other than a small refrigerator. Didn't check if the TV worked because we never needed it! There is wifi located in the common area but not in the rooms.

The hotel is ideally located on the island; bus service to the other towns is reliable but not terribly frequent. The main town is only twenty minutes away by bus. There is not a whole lot to do on the island other than see some amazing vistas and visit great beaches, so this is an island for kicking back and relaxing. There are many many restaurants and tavernas along the Platys Gialos Beach so it was easy to walk from the hotel to get lunch or dinner.

Note: it takes about 40 minutes to get to the hotel from the port of Kamares, where you'd get dropped off by the ferry from Athens. Best to have the hotel arrange for a cab to meet you there, as it is a small island and cabs are not readily available, especially when the ferries arrive.

Special kudos to our hosts—the proprietor Dikeos and his girlfriend Vigea. They were incredibly accommodating and friendly. They called cabs for us, gave advice on where to go and how to get there. He even drove us into town.They have great pride in their establishment and it shows.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Yialos
0.0 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Yialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.3 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verina Suites
Verina Suites
#2 of 8 in Platis Yialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Morfeas Pension
Morfeas Pension
#2 of 14 in Kamares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
5.0 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Antoniadis
Villa Antoniadis
#5 of 8 in Platis Yialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platys Gialos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platys Gialos

Property: Platys Gialos
Address: Platis Yialos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Platis Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Platis Yialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Platys Gialos was built from the Greek government as a Xenia from one of the most known Greek architects Mr.Aris Konstantinidis. In 1971 our family bought this hotel renovated many times and still operating it until today without destroying it's character and spirit. Xenia was built by the Greek government in the early 60s in order to attract and develop tourism in Greece. The most ideal spots were chosen and this is basically our main advantage.We are offering relaxing holidays by the beach just meters away seas crystal water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Platys Gialos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platys Gialos Sifnos, Greece - Platis Yialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing