We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples and families”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Platys Gialos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Platys Gialos
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Platis Yialos
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for couples and families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed both as a couple for 10 days and as a family for 7 (four adult children, their spouses and two babies age 2 and 2/12. Group ages from 2 to 67). I highly recommend this property. Located at the end of the beach facing east, you enjoy beautiful sunrises and a superb view of the town. All rooms have been completely remodeled and feature nicely appointed bathrooms, and roomy balconies. There ample electrical outlets. The property is very large and offers numerous areas to get away or get together. The sun beds on the beach are some of the best you'll find. There is a play area for kids, complimentary kyaks and a ping pong table. Staff is amazing with wonderful attitudes who seem to love what they do and are always willing to please.

The hotel serves a delicious complete breakfast that includes: Fresh squeezed orange and other juices, Johanna's homemade bread and cakes, fried eggs, hard boiled and omelettes, jams, honey, Greek yogurt, sliced tomato, several cheeses, fresh fruit, and freshly brewed coffee. There is some food service available as well as cold drinks. Johanna's Greek salad is one of the best you'll find. There is a bus stop right outside the property where you can catch the bus to most places on the island. All the excellent restaurants are an easy walk from the hotel.

So whether you visit as a couple of as a family, you'll find an amazing experience awaits you at this hotel.

Room Tip: lower level rooms are good for those with kids as there is direct access to the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week in June 2013 with my girlfriend and I only have good things to say about it. The location and views are by far the best on this beach. The room was really nice and clean and the breakfast was amazing.The hotel seems to have been renovated recently.

Another thing that I loved was that the hotel had a small pier where you could just jump directly into the sea from there!


Make sure you ask tips from Dikis and his wife regarding the places to visit the island. The owners were super friendly and very helpful!

We also visited other hotels in Platys Gialos and I am sure to state that this is definitely the best hotel in this region. I wish I can come back to this place in 2014!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We (a family of five) stayed at Hotel Platys Yialos July 2013. We had visited three years earlier, and had hoped to get the same room. The owner told us that room was already booked, but assured us that he had an even better room. I must admit we were skeptical. But boy were we wrong! He gave us a suite for the same price, with beautiful views of the beach right outside our front door. The hotel has seating areas on the grounds near the beach that we used extensively, a couple of kayaks that the kids used every day, and a wonderful beach for swimming. The hospitality cannot be beat, nor can the price. We stayed for six days and wished we had left more time at the end of our vacation to stay longer! When we accidentally left a cell phone in the room safe, the owner assured us not to worry. He shipped it back to us in the US at no cost to us. I have rarely seen service like this, and all with a smile. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimandfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was very nicely decorated, with a beautiful private balcony overlooking the beach and out to sea. It was great to be able to see everything, but not be right in the heart of the action. It was a short walk to get to all the cafes. The hotel had lots of different seating areas, some in the shade, and some in the sun, so guests could find privacy to be with their own group. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was very fresh and tasty. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My entire family stayed at Platis Yialos for 5 days this July. The hotel was spectacular, from location, amenities, food and service. The hotel is located at the end of the beach with amazing views of the town and direct access to the calm waters of the bay and a family friendly beach. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and dotted with shaded cabana style lounge chairs, private beach chairs and umbrellas are available on the beach for guests to use.

The buffet breakfast provided was plentiful and fresh every morning (my finace and I stayed at a higher end hotel down the road and were jealous of the options provided at Platys Yialos). I can go on and on about the positives, but to keep it short this hotel offers everything and more that you could want on your stay in Sifnos, especially for the price. The owners and staff were fantastic and made my whole family feel at home.

I could not have been happier with our choice - this hotel has it all, for all ages. From my grandparents to my 1 year old nice, all were able to enjoy. Overall an excellent option, warm and welcoming - the pictures do not do it justice.

Thank you to the owners for making my families stay on the Island one that they will never forget!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondorada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in Platis Yialos Hotel with our 1.5 years old baby. This was one of our best vacations ever. The hotel is situated on the end of the beach having an amazing view all over the coast. You can get to the sandy beach within couple of seconds from your room. The hotel has a spacious beautiful garden full of flowers and vines. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was very rich and fresh - pastries, fruits, vegetables, fresh juice and everything you could ask for. The staff has been super nice and helpful with everything we asked - from special food for our baby to late check out so we can get arranged before our late ferry. The hotel is super quite and calm. Perfect hotel for families or couples. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yubark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel Platis Yalos has been recently renovated. The rooms are very comfortable (a bit small, maybe), all with balconies overlooking the amazing beach of Platis Yalos. The location is perfect: the hotel is just on the most beautiful beach of the island (one of the best island of the Cyclades I have visited, by the way), with a couple of very good tavernas to have dinner, if you don’t feel like going to “town” at night.
The hotel is clean and the personnel is kind and helpful.
I suggest to book a room without breakfast included: it is not worth it and there are many bars on the beach right in front of the hotel where you can have a great Greek (or continental) breakfast, at any time of the day.
One of the best things about this hotel is its private beach with sun beds and umbrellas. Very quiet and isolated from the rest of the beach that can become very crowded during the day.
One thing that is missing, in my opinion, it is a bar. The hotel has a wonderful outdoor and it would be nice to get a drink on the terrace after a day
at the beach. Of course, you can go in the kitchen of the hotel and ask for something to drink (and the stuff will bring it to you), but it is not the same thing.
Overall, we had a wonderful time at the hotel Platis Yalos and we recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benedetta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Yialos
0.5 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Yialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.4 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verina Suites
Verina Suites
#2 of 8 in Platis Yialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Antoniadis
Villa Antoniadis
#5 of 8 in Platis Yialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platys Gialos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platys Gialos

Property: Platys Gialos
Address: Platis Yialos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Platis Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Platis Yialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Platys Gialos was built from the Greek government as a Xenia from one of the most known Greek architects Mr.Aris Konstantinidis. In 1971 our family bought this hotel renovated many times and still operating it until today without destroying it's character and spirit. Xenia was built by the Greek government in the early 60s in order to attract and develop tourism in Greece. The most ideal spots were chosen and this is basically our main advantage.We are offering relaxing holidays by the beach just meters away seas crystal water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Platys Gialos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platys Gialos Sifnos, Greece - Platis Yialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing