We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some not so good”
Review of Cyclades

Cyclades
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Diner, Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At restaurant "Cyclades" (owner: Nikos Venakis) you will find all the traditional recipes of Sifnos like mastelo, chickpea balls (revithokeftedes) and caper salad. All of them are cooked with pure ingredients in our home based kitchen. Also try our Spaghetti with shrimps.You can enjoy your breakfast, meal or dinner at our veranda, right in front of the beach with the magnificent view of Platis Gialos bay!
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some good some not so good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd try this highly rated restaurant for dinner. I ordered the roasted goat and potatoes and my wife had the chicken in cream sauce w mushrooms. Her dish was delicious. Very flavorful, moist tender chicken chunks and a wonderful sauce. Of course the French fries were excellent. The goat I ordered not so good. Described as roasted in the oven with potatoes, I thought there would be some sauce/liquid, but it showed up on the plate dry, overlooked to the point I couldn't chew it. Waitress was excellent as I asked her to please replace it with the chicken dish like my wife ordered. This was done with a smile. As we were leaving the owner wanted to know more what was wrong as she said "I need to know the bad and the good ". Service is 4 star, food as well minus the goat. Beautiful setting right on the water. 3 1/2 stars.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank greg7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent traditional Sifnian cuisine”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch of traditional Sifnian cuisine: caper salad, chick pea balls, matzelo (lamb stew) and chickpea soup served by the very kind and friendly Maria. She suggested we try their local dishes the day we visited. We loved it all, but especially the chick pea soup, which in our estimation, was the best on the island. It melted in our mouths.
Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Variety of food. The setting. And excellent service. They could not do enough for us and, at short notice, prepared a brilliant buffet dinner for 35 wedding guests the night before the wedding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HFTNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, good food”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

In September 2012 we came to Plati Yialos to celebrate our wedding with a small group of 30 guests. We were looking for a pre-wedding dinner and found that Cyclades has the best location in Plati Yialos (central, clearly signed, directly on the beach), has a large kitchen that can accommodate cooking for that many guests, while the place itself still feels intimate with cute traditional tables. We decided to book our pre-wedding dinner here and did not regret this. In fact, we and our guests were coming back for lunches/dinners in the following days of our stay.

The owner used to run a restaurant in New York and speaks excellent English. He helped us organize a great party on short notice and all guests were saying how yummy the food was. The owner also helped us to find a DVD player to show some photos, played nice music and helped our guests with their requests (One guest needed help to get crutches the next day, and the owners organized those from Apollonia).

Compared to other restaurants in Plati Yialos, this one is run very professionally while still keeping competitive prices. Would highly recommend to anybody who is visiting Sifnos.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zelandiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Simple”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Plati Gialos,once a very popular beach and resort on this island,was devastated by the constant bad winter weather that plagued it in the resent years wiping out more than half the sandy beach of this once beautiful bay.
The majority of the traditional restaurants on Sifnos share their cooking technuiqe and ingredients.This restaurant is no exeption.Plain,simple and a little on the expensive side regarding their location and offerings.Lopts of places like it on this island.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cyclades also viewed

Platis Yialos, Sifnos
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to Cyclades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing