We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rennovation going very well”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Valhall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valhall
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kalix
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rennovation going very well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

First stayed at the Valhalla about Feb this year. Things were messy and smelly. But now we have a first calss restaurant, and very popular with locals. Serves excellent meals at night, breakfast is quite varied/smorgasboard. Rooms spacious, and would recomend the business rooms, and you get more for not much more in cost. Very centrally loacted, in the centrum, and easy walk tot he bus station. Fishing is about 450 meters away. Ditto for supermarkets. Chemists.

Staff are excellent, but do make sure you know about then the restaurant is oging to be. booked out, and just book for sure. We got trounced by the Swedish National Holiday, which saw the restaurant fully booked for several hours, and then the night club cut in.

Great night, but could have been hungry! But there are a lot of restaraunts within quick walk..in fact Hospital is also within quick walk!

Room Tip: business rooms are the go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    8
    12
    3
See reviews for
5
4
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akaslompolo, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

With a trip planned to visit Ikea in Haparanda we used our sat nav to find a hotel nearby. We were not expecting too much and when we arrived there appeared to be a buffet event in full swing.

We were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade and also a meal in the bistro which was separate from the packed buffet area with a great menu, which we have come to expect from Scandivavian hotels and restaurants.

We had a huge suite in business class but the lift shaft was nearby which didn't affect us but may affect a light sleeper.

Great service and a wonderful breakfast. Will save the details in the sat nav for next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I don't wish to sully the reputation of any decent hotel.
I'm sure maintaining the hotel, has taken some effort.
The staff I encountered was nice.
However, the room suffers nearly constant loud noise. Whether it be the plumbing pipes, the neighbors, or the elevator shaft- it was as noisy as a zoo.
The staircase floors need bleach or disinfectant wash.
The room carpet & furniture are dated & smell stale.
The window coverings are fine- as is the room lighting.
The hotel label gratis chocolates- are a nice touch.
If you're a deep sleeper; it has a convenient location downtown.
There is an interesting bar in the lobby; if you feel thirsty.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one night while passing through Kalix. It is well located in the centre of Kalix. Although the lobby and the dining room are well designed and clean it is not true for the rooms. First the carpets both in the corridors and in the rooms are dirty and should be changed. My room was not cleaned properly. This hotel needs renovation and better cleaning. Not recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just home from Sweden having had a week at the Valhall in Kalix, the last time I was here was 7 years ago and I had some "fun" in the Valhall and just stayed one night! This time was different though and the Hotel is pretty good. The room, although small and basic was quite comfortable but they do need blackout blinds on the windows, the sun was rising at around 0330 and waking me up. The food was excellent as was the service in the restuarant, the only minus was the prices, it's very expensive, i've not done my expenses yet but the Hotel bill for 6 nights was nearly £1000.00 which represents very poor value for the money.

Room Tip: High up, there is a nightclub in the basement and they did have musicians on the stage in the restua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I have been using this hotel for about 7 or 8 years now. Every time I drive through Sweden and Finland I always stop here to spend a night or two. It is a ok hotel with very good food. They have a bussines class section that is ok because you don't here the musc from the dancing florr.
They have two restaurants, both in the hotel, but the sports bar "Before" has also its own entrance. The food is from the same kitchen and very tasty.
The hotel is not new, but the rooms are ok. Clean and nice.

Room Tip: If you dont like music from the dancefloor ask for a room far away in the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Valhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valhall

Property: Hotel Valhall
Address: 21 Strandgatan, Kalix 952 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kalix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kalix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Valhall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing