We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new discovery for us, one to return to!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eldoret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Naiberi River Campsite & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A new discovery for us, one to return to!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed two nights in tents in the rain....but it didn't spoil a peaceful time amongst the geese. The staff more than accommodated our rather inept preparations, found a jiko and charcoal for us to cook on, and helped us form our own small private party in the bar by the river. Staff must be recommended in general; they were polite and helpful. The food was served quickly, was very tasty and fresh, and priced within anyone's budget. The communal bar and the open fire warmed us up in the cold hours. The place has clearly seen better days in its infrastructure but that didn't matter, it has a rustic appeal but you can update the kiddies' play area to make it a bit safer and entertaining. Showers and toilets for campers by the river were clean and solid, but get used to warm....ish water! (This should not deter anyone valuing a camp rather than a hotel).
Will definitely return, hopefully in the sun to enjoy the river a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    19
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here, one in the dorm room where we had a hot shower and one in a tent where we had to use the communal showers which were cold. The toilets and showers in both were clean at least.

There was also a great bar area with a log fire and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I discovered this beautiful place on 16th -18th August,the surroundings is beautiful and peaceful. Good food and very helpful staff and management who ensured we had an amazing time. A few hitches though that i believe can be looked into by the management.The staff were helpful but very slow, we had to walk over to them requesting for orders as they were busy watching TV. Second the lower campsite is ill equipped forcing campers to walk up to the closest bandas or the pool bar for amenities-water, bathrooms and cooking area. Last the cleaning should be extended to bathrooms at the pool area as that has been neglected. Overall it is a great place that is at risk of being run down if the above isn't looked into. I would however recommend anyone to the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chebichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After many hours of traveling from Nairobi - we were very happy to reach Naiberi. We had a group of six people and one part of our group stayed at a cottage room and the others stayed in the lodge rooms. We were all very happy with the accommodations, the food, and the friendly staff. We would love to come back in the future and spend more time there.

The setting is very nice overlooking a brook. We also appreciated the way the rooms and restaurant blended in very nicely with the wooded locale.

Room Tip: We had a cottage room and enjoyed watching the birds in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piners_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had heard a lot of positive reviews from friends prior to my first visit to Naiberi. The disappointment started at the gate where we were asked to pay an entry fee of Kes. 200 each to access the restaurant that we would not redeem. We inquired why we were to pay and the watchman shamelessly reported to view the wood carvings, the least of our interest. After parting with 1,200 we got a table and started begging for everything, being the eve of the presidential election only two tables were occupied, but all the staff were entertaining themselves with repeats of English football on tv. After about 20 minutes of nobody attending to us, we walked to them and asked if they were open, to their utter surprise that we wanted to eat. They took our orders and we decided to work around to get a view of the entire facility. From hanging cobwebs to a dirty swimming that was full of innocent kids to rusty roofs.. We returned to the restaurant and continued with the wait for our meal. Not only was the meat overcooked and burnt, they had gotten the whole order mixed up.. we enjoyed our beers, that was good. On paying our bill, we never got back the change, we considered it compulsory tipping and left.
Naiberi is a beautiful place, if the facilities were better maintained and had a better committed staff, it would be a little heaven.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limmo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naiberi, Manager at Naiberi River Campsite & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Limmo K,

We thank you for taking the time to write the review dated 8th August and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the below par services that you received. From your review we gather that you may have visited around late February or Early March 2013 when we accept that we had many shortfalls in service quality and maintenance having come out of a difficult period with very low occupancy due to several travel warnings. We do however accept that this should be no excuse for letting the standards slip.

We are pleased to say that in the past couple of months, we have made several changes and renovated many areas to ensure that we are able to fulfil client expectations and the more recent reviews, we feel, reflect this goal that we are now heading towards.

We sincerely hope that you can give us a chance to make amends by hosting you once again - please get in touch with us so that we can try and restore the confidence that you had when you heard the positive reviews from your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We spent several days in Naiberi from 8th to 11th. We had a single, double and triple room. The staff was very friendly, with Maureen, Christine and of course Salim, the manager, all going out of their way to help out. This went from giving us their own cell phones to accompanying us to the bank in Eldoret.
Rooms come in 2 categories. The standard one is rather small and basic, with a separate bathroom, but not much else in the way of comfort. The Executive rooms are bigger. Hot water is always available in the rooms.
There were not many other guests during our stay: one or two Overlander trucks spent a night.
Breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit, freshly squeezed mango juice, eggs, saucage, toast, ... We had during three days most of our meals in Naiberi, and I cannot say that we were ever disappointed in the quality of the food. It was very, very good. Maybe a mistake here or there with taking our orders, but nothing too disturbing.
The restaurant is pleasant, with a central fireplace, and several smaller charcoal-fireplaces that provide some heating during the cold months.
There is no Wifi available.
The main attraction is the beautiful grounds, the swimming pool ( pretty cold in July, though). The environs are nice, but there are not a huge number of attractions closeby. We went jogging to the dam a few kilometers further. Many local
Kalenjin practice in the area, sometimes in large groups. Altitude is more than 2200 meter, so you can spend some time here acclimatizing before climbing Mt Kenya or your next Athletics Meet.
Eldoret is about 15 km away.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Naiberi is currently the most beautiful place I have ever been to in Kenya. Maureen (receptionist) was such a good host. I'd come back just to see her again :-) I had a really good time at the pool and at the fully stocked bar. The service is very professional and I'd like to appreciate them for that.

One thing I loved was the diversified nature I experienced. I got to capture on camera more than 20 bird species in a single day. Bird lovers, this would be bird heaven.

The interior design was well thought of and well executed. It lived up to what I saw on the resort's website.

I'll definitely refer all my friends to the wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Rooms under trees are much warmer :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheltheAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eldoret
10.3 mi away
Boma Inn Eldoret
Boma Inn Eldoret
#1 of 8 in Eldoret
165 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Winstar
Hotel Winstar
#3 of 8 in Eldoret
13 reviews
8.7 mi away
Samich Resort
Samich Resort
#1 of 37 in Eldoret
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Kerio View
Kerio View
#1 of 3 in Iten
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 8 in Eldoret
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naiberi River Campsite And Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naiberi River Campsite & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naiberi River Campsite & Resort

Property: Naiberi River Campsite & Resort
Address: | Along Eldoret Kaptagat Highway, Eldoret 30100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Eldoret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Naiberi River Campsite Hotel Eldoret
Naiberi River Campsite And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing