We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eldoret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Naiberi River Campsite & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I spent time there for our anniversary. The hotel was very peaceful and romantic. There were plenty of quiet places to relax and sit listening to the river. The accommodations themselves were very clean and comfortable. The best part about our experience was the service. While ordering food, the waitress would literally run to get your drinks and food to you as quickly as possible. The staff worked very hard. We enjoyed the food that we ordered. Overall our experience was wonderful and we are looking forward to going back. The manager, Salim, made sure that our stay exceeded our expectations. After our wonderful experience, we have recommended this resort for other friends to stay as well. If you are going through Eldoret, you should take the time to stay at Naiberi. You will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Forty years ago Eldoret was a charming small town. Now it seems to be so big and so busy that I don't really recognise anywhere so the hotels I used to like (Waggon Wheel etc.) have changed. Naiberi was recommended to us by Teresa at 'TA Tours and Travel' and we thought we'd give it a go. Teresa is never wrong.
We went top end but you can camp and I think there is a bunkhouse as well. The main bar/lounge/dining room is terrific. They have taken a huge area and put a roof over it. Inside there are little bridges to walk across to split the bar from the dining room etc. So much space. Big fire at night. The food is very good and we had a group of 16 all ordering different things.
It seems Bill Gates has stayed there and the rumour was that the same was true of 'Brad and Angelina'. Of course they may have heard the same about me.
The rooms are very comfortable indeed and so are the bathrooms.
The only reason I've not given it five stars is because we weren't there long enough (one night, moving on the next day) to check out the birdlife which is another reason for it being built. I suspect though that one more night and it would get its five stars. One tip is to go to the bottom right corner of the garden and get a position to see the stream. There is a Malachite Kingfisher living just on the other side. I was only able to have a quick scout around before breakfast but I think I just scratched the surface in terms of birdlife.
Very impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeGOsterleyMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stopped here twice on an overland trip.
- First time I camped, and glad the showers were warm
- Second time in dorm room with amazing comfy beds.

The bar is the highlight with the open fire, friendly staff, and ice cold beer. On our last night here on the way back to Nairobi they provided an African feast for us, which was amazing.

We even braved the pool, which was clean, but freezing, but after a long day on the truck it was refreshing to say the least.

Toilets / Showers were all clean, and well maintained, and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingaussie-adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Overland tourists stop here so as such,it is called an Overland stop-over. Alot of facilties from the spacious rooms to hostel-like rooms,a range of outdoor and indoor bar &restaurants,pool and outside lounges. Sit by the high deck down at the the pool and enjoy an afternoon conversation with your freinds. you will meet tourists stopping over and you can strike conversations if you may. Carry a sweater-it can get cold esp as the sun is going down. Bill gates has slept here so if you can fork a good amount,you can sleep at that room and write it in your own diary as a little accomplishment. Really a nice place; thouroughly enjoyed it. 16kms from Eldoret on Eldoret-Kaptagat Road(branch off at Poa Place on the Main highway)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvester-Korir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Rocked up at dusk in our Overland Vehicle to uncover one surprise after another. Beautiful pool, cavernous bar and a dorm all to ourselves. Great staff and no better place to be when you find yourself on the road to somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't tent it in the rain, upgrade for a few dollars more and treat yourself to the spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had used the campsite years ago in another location nearby, but pulled in last year to the newer place when I was passing through El Doret. The kitchen was closed but they out sourced a very good curry dinner, the rooms were clean and tidy and we had a quiet few drinks at the bar with the owner and manager. The location beside a quiet river is unbeatable and the whole place is quirky, quite different. Passing through I would always drop in for the night

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed two nights in tents in the rain....but it didn't spoil a peaceful time amongst the geese. The staff more than accommodated our rather inept preparations, found a jiko and charcoal for us to cook on, and helped us form our own small private party in the bar by the river. Staff must be recommended in general; they were polite and helpful. The food was served quickly, was very tasty and fresh, and priced within anyone's budget. The communal bar and the open fire warmed us up in the cold hours. The place has clearly seen better days in its infrastructure but that didn't matter, it has a rustic appeal but you can update the kiddies' play area to make it a bit safer and entertaining. Showers and toilets for campers by the river were clean and solid, but get used to warm....ish water! (This should not deter anyone valuing a camp rather than a hotel).
Will definitely return, hopefully in the sun to enjoy the river a bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eldoret hotels
10.3 mi away
Boma Inn Eldoret
Boma Inn Eldoret
#1 of 9 in Eldoret
201 reviews
8.7 mi away
Samich Resort
Samich Resort
#1 of 49 in Eldoret
28 reviews
11.6 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 9 in Eldoret
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Naiberi River Campsite And Resort
11.5 mi away
Hotel Winstar
Hotel Winstar
#6 of 9 in Eldoret
13 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#4 of 9 in Eldoret
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naiberi River Campsite & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naiberi River Campsite & Resort

Address: | Along Eldoret Kaptagat Highway, Eldoret 30100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Eldoret
Price Range: £49 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Naiberi River Campsite And Resort
Naiberi River Campsite Hotel Eldoret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing