We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sirikwa Pool Bar & Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sirikwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sirikwa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Eldoret B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sirikwa Pool Bar & Restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I did not stay at this hotel so I can't comment on the conditions of the rooms. But I did have dinner at the pool bar on the huge outdoor patio. They did have a hamburger which is rare for Eldoret. The hotel lobby appeared clean and the security was clearly visible. I envision enjoying more meals on the patio once the rainy season ends in August.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beejmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
4
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

i stayed here on my first visit to Eldoret and was so disappointed. Threadbare carpet, old bedding, dull corridors. Right from the reception, nothing makes you want to stay there. The breakfast could be better.
Overall the whole place needs a thorough facelift.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eldoret hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackson, TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have stayed at the Sirikwa many times, mainly because it was the only option in Eldoret that was safe. But with the new hotels - the Comfy and the Cicada, we will no longer ever stay at the Sirikwa! I'm sure in the 60's, it was a nice luxurious place, but absolutely nothing looks like it has been replaced since then. The bathroom fixtures are always clean and there is hot water, but the floors are so filthy, it's scary. The carpet in the rooms, as well as the furniture upholstery, is just terribly dirty and stained. The sheets are clean and recently there have been new towels. But overall.......not kept up at all. The halls are dark and a bit scary at night, as several of the lights don't work. The food is passable, but not good. They charged us about $100/night because we are Americans. The brand new hotels in town are now only about $35-40/night.

I would only stay here if there were no other options.

Room Tip: There is one remodeled room that I know of. It has new linens and a new love seat. The tile in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltjchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huldenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I come to this Hotel for stays of approx. 2 weeks, once or twice a year, since 1990. During all these years Sirikwa has always been seen as the best hotel of Eldoret. This was mainly due to the fact that it was the only, that it had a beautiful garden and a swimming pool.
The hotel have been in clear decline since years, not in the least in its catering (food and drinks) and neglected rooms.
Recently however, it changed recently, being acquired by a new management. It is already visible that the ambition of the new owner is met by a thorough refurbishing, a better catering department.
Let's hope the investment is not discontinued...keep it up

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpatrickdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very much a hotel of the kind that used to be common throughout east Africa. Now somewhat faded, although it has a reasonable smimming pool and the rooms are ok for a night or two. The food was certainly not to my taste.

There was quite a long mix up with the bill on check ut which took a while to resolve.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The Sirikwa is seen as the best hotel in Eldoret. This may be true, but it is only because there are no good options. The Sirikwa must have been nice circa 1966, but now the wall paper is peeling, floor tiles are coming up and the toilets leak.

Nevertheless, it has some advantages: it is safe, secure and quiet. This is more than can be said of The Clique -- another main hotel in town.

So, basically stay here if you have to.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aserlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eldoret hotels
1.2 mi away
Boma Inn Eldoret
Boma Inn Eldoret
#1 of 8 in Eldoret
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Winstar
Hotel Winstar
#4 of 8 in Eldoret
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#5 of 8 in Eldoret
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#3 of 8 in Eldoret
15 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Castle Motel
White Castle Motel
#8 of 8 in Eldoret
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 8 in Eldoret
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirikwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirikwa Hotel

Property: Sirikwa Hotel
Address: Elgeyo road | Off Oloo street, Eldoret 30100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Eldoret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirikwa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sirikwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing