We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad mistake ruins a nice place”
Review of Hotel Winstar

Hotel Winstar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Winstar
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eldoret
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad mistake ruins a nice place”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Let me start with the good things about this place. Its people. The employees have exceptional customer service. From the security guys checking guests at the entrance, to the receptionist to the managers and supervisors; these people are very pleasant and warm. Customer service displayed here is up the top. The food was good although some work needs to done to improve breakfast.
Now to the negatives. Trying to find sleep was a challenge here because there were so many footsteps and chatter on the corridors at night. This hotel is in a section of town with many mechanics, garages and work shops so the noise level during the day can be irritating.
Now to the worst about this hotel. The drainer in the sink was rusted. As if that wasn't an issue when I opened the tap to brush my teeth brown colored water gushed out, meaning the tap was also rusted. But the worst thing about this hotel is the panoramic CCTV camera's that peer through window on top of the door and right into the room. Yes!! You better believe it!! These people are able to view everything that happens in your room.
That is the worst mistake anybody can make in the hotel industry.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms facing the street. Very noisy at night and in the morning. Most of all DO NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phylis2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Winstar, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
First and foremost, we thank you for your candid comments, we take your concerns very very seriously. We appreciate the fact that the issues raised can be tackled, we truly and sincerely apologize for the same.
1. The breakfast will be improved
2. The management will look into the issue of noise and chatters along the corridor.
3. The drainer to the sink will be replaced immediately.
4. The hotel always endeavors to protect your privacy. The CCTV cameras are meant for the corridors and never for the rooms. To be honest the hotel was not aware that the cameras are able capture the insides of the rooms. Consequently, the positioning of the cameras will be changed on the rooms affected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limuru, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I dint think such places exist in Eldoret town. My first experience at this place was awesome. Their food was delicious and to spice it all, my night in their rooms was one of the best experience i have ever had in a hotel. Kudos Winstar you have learnt a lot from the best hotels in Coast!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanjui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phylis2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Winstar, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Winstar. We are glad that you enjoyed your first experience with us. At Hotel Winstar we strive to provide nothing but the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I really enjoyed my experience at Hotel Winstar. It has fully furnished rooms that are clean and appealing. Customer service is great with their friendly personnel. I really enjoyed the service from their waiters in their bar. They had a welcoming smile to greet all guests. Drinks are served immediately they have been ordered. I would go back to Hotel Winstar whenever am in Eldoret.

Ken.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are quieter since they are further away from the bar and meeting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IKen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phylis2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Winstar, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review, much appreciated. Our staff are all well trained in customer service and they do their level best to ensure that you, the guest, get the best experience. Your most welcomed next time you are in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The luxurious hotel Winstar is located in the historical heart of Eldoret town. Its strategical location gives you a panoramic view of Sosiani river as it meanders away.
The hotel has comfortable furnished rooms, spacious well lit and ventilated conference halls.
the overall decor and feel of the hotel is great and serves as an excellent base to explore more.
The attractive combination of the strategic location and exceptional service delivery,friendly rates,friendly and personal approach of staff provides a professional service that will ensure you a pleasant stay in this beautiful hotel.
sammy(Nrb)

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 569Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phylis2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Winstar, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,
We are humbled by you positive remarks. Being the newest hotel, we intend to lead in the provision of hospitality services. You are most welcomed back next time you are in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eldoret hotels
2.2 mi away
White Castle Motel
White Castle Motel
#7 of 8 in Eldoret
7 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boma Inn Eldoret
Boma Inn Eldoret
#1 of 8 in Eldoret
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#5 of 8 in Eldoret
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 8 in Eldoret
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Comfy - Eldoret
Hotel Comfy - Eldoret
#2 of 38 in Eldoret
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watercrest Gardens
Watercrest Gardens
#4 of 38 in Eldoret
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Winstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Winstar

Property: Hotel Winstar
Address: Eldoret 30100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eldoret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation ranges from standard, twin and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Winstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing