We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but not that organised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Confluencia Lodge
Ranked #6 of 21 El Bolson B&B and Inns
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not that organised.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a nice place. It's totally out of the way from everything so don't expect to just take a trip to town for some milk because you can't! The hill to the place is huge and walking back to the bus stop in Warton is enough to put me off ever going back or recommending the lodge further. The owner mark is nice but promised Us a lift to the bus stop in the morning and change his mind last minute favouring guests in the lodge rather than the bunk house. The food there was great but maybe a tad pricey for not that much. They have a nice bar down the rOadt hat do amazing home brewed ale and yummy pizza! Also they need to have a big staff meeting and just stick to a price list!!!! No1 really knew he price for the hot tubs or the food etc etc. it was all confusing and made us feel stressed out. The bunk house was very cold in the days too which wasn't very comfortable. The walks around and the river azul are just breath taking.

He reason I rated poor was because of things just weren't clear enough. Breakfast was confusing, hot tub costs confusing meal times confusing and no definite answers from the staff. But they were all very nice people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaConfluencia, Owner at La Confluencia Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
The reviewer is correct in stating that La Confluencia is away from everything. In fact, that's the idea...those travelers looking for an alternative to noisy towns and cities appreciate our somewhat remote location, spring water on tap, farm-fresh organic produce, and direct access to hiking trails and don't seem to mind the challenge of getting here. And with a little advance notice, we're glad to provide transfers to either the town of El Bolsón or Bariloche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulmarra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We read about La Confluencia a couple of years ago and put it on the must do list. We were picked up as planned at the bus stop in El Bolson by Mark - the co-visionary and creator - and for me, who has had a lifelong dream of having the skills and temerity to create such an organised, working Organic Farm and home stay - it was a place I will hold dear and hope to return to.
The very beautiful and talented Chef Gina, originally from Buenos Aires graced us with first class food, most of which had just been harvested or milled and baked or preserved in house.
Horse riding through the mountains with Eduardo and his trusty steads and finding the amazing Refugio's that offer a smile and a meal for the hikers, who are numerous, was another highlight.
La Confluencia could be marketed on a multifaceted level and would appeal to much more than the serious hikers and volunteers who help to make the whole package work. We were a couple of overworked middle aged women that needed to take refuge from our busy lives and it was absolutely fantastic.
Many blessings upon all who have contributed to this beautiful place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank weenabaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We also stayed at La Confluencia as part of a Sacred Rides Mountain Biking trip. Excellent accommodations and the food was amazing. The location of the lodge is beautiful and there is lots to do (hiking, hot tubbing, going down to the river, biking, horseback riding). We got the suite which was really nice in that it is a bit larger and has a private bathroom. Thank you for the great week!

Room Tip: The suite is bigger and has a private bath. The internet is a bit slow and does not work sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGScottH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at La Confluencia as part of a Sacred Rides Mountain Biking trip. We were the luckiest mountain bikers EVER! The food was FANTASTIC - thank you Gina and staff! The accommodations were beautiful, comfortable and impeccably clean. The setting was absolute paradise, walking down to the river, up to the hot tub or sauna or out into the garden, it didn't matter where you walked, there were stunning views in every direction. Thank you to everyone at La Confluencia for making me feel truly welcome and at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

La Confluencia is amazing... definitely the favorite place we've stayed during our 1.5 month trip in Argentina and Chile. The staff is extremely helpful, rooms are quaint, bathrooms are awesome, and the grounds stunning! I'd return in a heartbeat...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaitlindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Leave the rest of the world behind and experience a truly breathtaking experience at La Confluencia!

I visited Mark and Ellie's beautiful homestead / lodge a few years ago as part of a guided mountain biking excursion in the region. I spent a total of 10 days at the lodge and never wanted to leave...

Their vision to create the prefect eco-retreat has paid off by leaving me with memories of a lifetime. The attention to detail in not only the finishing, but also in the site layout, sustainable design, locally sourcing of food... There is nothing like it.

Definitely a place for those looking to get away, whom have discerning taste.

It's an eco-retreat treat!

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had an incredible family vacation in La Confluencia. The place is beautiful and the location is great for those looking for a mountain resort.

Mark (the owner) and the rest of the staff are very nice people.
I strongly recommend la confluencia for families w/kids that enjoy playing outdoors (horses, bikes, rivers, long walks, rafting, kayaking, etc... ) Please be aware that access is quite challenging and if you're going w/your own car it is imperative to go with a 4x4. Mark can do the pick up if you don't have a 4 wheel drive.

Room Tip: there is only one room w/private bathroom. all others share 2 bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Bolson hotels
0.0 mi away
Cumbres Hotel
Cumbres Hotel
#2 of 3 in El Bolson
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Nalcas Mountain Resort & SPA
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mandala
Hostel Mandala
#2 of 64 in El Bolson
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Las Lavandas
Cabanas Las Lavandas
#1 of 21 in El Bolson
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Los Teros
Cabanas Los Teros
#1 of 3 in El Bolson
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morada del Sol Hosteria & Resto de Montana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Confluencia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Confluencia Lodge

Property: La Confluencia Lodge
Address: Confluence Blue River & White River, El Bolson 8430, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > El Bolson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in El Bolson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Patagonian lodge, a model of sustainable construction, is in a remote mountain location within a 200,000 acre wilderness preserve with endless adventure activities on site from rafting to rock climbing, and a sauna and outdoor hot tubs with stunning river views. All meals are prepared with organic products from the Confluencia farm: vegetables, fresh milk, eggs, meats, and hearty breads from whole grains harvested and stone-ground at the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Confluencia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing