We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Hosts, Delicious Food & Phenomenal Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Confluencia Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 El Bolson B&B and Inns
1 review
“Welcoming Hosts, Delicious Food & Phenomenal Location!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What an amazing experience! I traveled to La Confluencia as a volunteer and spent several weeks there. I was traveling alone, for the first time, and when I arrived I felt so at home and welcomed by Mark along with the other folks at the Lodge. Not only does the Lodge serve as a place for maximum relaxation (A private beach, sauna, hot tubs, and gorgeous landscape) but you will also be treated with the ABSOLUTE BEST food! It's a great head quarters if you're interested in trekking around the area. Both Mark and Kelly know about the trails connecting the different refugios in the area and they are more than happy to recommend day hikes or longer, several day-long treks. The bio-intensive garden is incredible and many of the meals at the Lodge are made with fresh ingredients, straight from the garden. If you are going to be in the El Bolson area, do yourself a favor and make your way to La Confluencia!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at La Confluencia for 3 days and we loved it. The hotel is run by an American family who have created a beautiful home in paradise. We were collected by Mark's son, Kelly who drove us in a 4x4 from El Bolson, taking a nearly impossible road through picturesque countryside and crossing a turquoise river to access the stunning home. As it was early in the season we were alone in the hotel so after Mark, Gina, the resident chef and Kelly welcomed us, they very kindly upgraded us which we were so grateful for. After a week without speaking to anyone else in English it was a delight to be able to converse with the team who shared their incredible story of how they have developed their lodge from scratch, their Eco approach to everything they do, the local employment they create, the provenance of all the food served. But it's not just a green lodge, it's luxurious too: the hot tubs, sauna, the food (Gina is an amazing cook). If you're anything like us and want an active break, Kelly is an expert canoeist and and trained guide. the river has some spectacular white water. Hubby Nick had a day on horse back which I bailed on for a long walk in the local area. He loved being in places only accessible by horse back and Kelly took him to some pretty amazing spots. We took the long, hot walk to Warton to take a bus into town on market day. We could have requested a ride for a small fee but the bus trip alone with locals in traditional dress and 'hippies' who also populate the area was fantastic people watching. And for getting out and about, there's also a lovely bar over the river accessible by a short wire bridge which was great for an evening beverage.
Room deposit payment in advance was tricky but we sorted it out finally but if you're looking for laid back, escape from it all luxury, please stay here. We've never experienced anything like this before and possibly never will again unless my dream of returning to Argentina comes true, in which case I'm heading straight back to La Confluencia. Thank you to the team, Jacqs and Nick.

Room Tip: The en suite is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaConfluencia, Owner at La Confluencia Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks so much for the kind comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to post. And thanks, too, for the feedback on the reservations process. We're now using PayPal, so it should go a bit more smoothly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here back in January and remembered I haven't yet written a review. First the good. La Confluencia is a very beautiful place set at the base of some great hiking trails outside of El Bolson, Argentina. The lodge itself is top notch, a beautiful building with an amazing garden. It's a bit hard to get to but worth it, and it makes a great base for hiking the trails. A cut above the refugios and a much easier starting point than coming from town. And the food is delicious, we were on a long trip but splurged for supper at the lodge, cooked with fresh ingredients from the garden it was absolutely excellent (price wise, it was not too bad considering the excellent quality).

Okay now the bad. I've seen this mentioned in another review. For all the great food and clean well maintained building, on the business side of things the lodge is a mess. They are trying to skirt the line between a boutique lodge and a hostel. There is a "bunk house" up away from the main lodge with dorm beds. This should be great if done properly because you end up with a menagerie of different types of travellers all in the same place, and it did make for a great time. BUT it is not being done properly. In a attempt to keep the bunkhouse prices low (I assume) there are different perks for lodge guests and bunkhouse guests. As a fellow traveller joked at the time, there is a class system at breakfast where the bunkhouse guests get bread and coffee and only the lodge guests get the extras of fruit and yogurt. Really??!! But it doesn't stop there. There is also extra charges for the bunkhouse guests. Say they want to use the hot tub, that will be $30 USD!? (Oh yeah there are wood fired hot tubs, which is pretty great after a long hike) while it's free for the lodge guests. Basically you might as well stay in the nicer lodge if you want to use the hot tub at all because the price will end up the same, and you can have the upper class fruit and yogurt breakfast...ridiculous.

Now, maybe this wouldn't be too bad (except it still would be, just raise the bunkhouse prices a bit and ditch all this nonsense) if there was clear and consistent pricing written down and shown to the guests, but there isn't. I really had no idea what exactly we were paying for dinner. And it became further confused by some fellow travellers who were staying in the lodge, but booked through hostelworld, so they were told that they would have to pay the $30 for the hot tub. At least they still got the fruit and yogurt... Due to this, I was prepping for a fight on the last day since we'd used the hot tub almost every night and hadn't been told a thing, but we were not charged for it.

The pricing inconsistency doesn't stop there. We looked at hostelworld, booking.com and the lodge website initially and found a different price on each. We ended up just emailing the owner directly and getting a quote. I would HIGHLY recommend doing this if you are planning on staying there, and quote the lowest price you found if needed until they get their pricing sorted out properly and professionally. Definitely don't book through Hostelworld.

Conclusion. Beautiful place, had a great time, met some great people, but the pricing and hostel/lodge class system is a big negative that needs to be fixed. If you can handle this, email the lodge directly, get a quote you're happy with, and push them to give the price for meals etc. in advance and if they try to add any charges, refuse to pay, and write about it here. Hopefully the next reviews can confirm that this has been fixed.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge. Book directly. The shared bathrooms in the lodge are amazing, so don't worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaConfluencia, Owner at La Confluencia Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
First off, I need to mention that 2014 is the first year we've attempted to offer a Hostel (Bunkhouse) option...so yes, there's been some trial and error involved, and we're truly sorry for the confusion that some visitors experienced at the beginning of the year. The reviewer is correct in assuming that we were trying to keep the Bunkhouse prices low and for this reason had developed a two tier pricing system. Due to visitor response however, we've since changed our pricing for the Bunkhouse to an all-inclusive rate in order to maintain consistency for all visitors.
Want to thank the reviewer for taking the time to comment so extensively...on both the good and bad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a nice place. It's totally out of the way from everything so don't expect to just take a trip to town for some milk because you can't! The hill to the place is huge and walking back to the bus stop in Warton is enough to put me off ever going back or recommending the lodge further. The owner mark is nice but promised Us a lift to the bus stop in the morning and change his mind last minute favouring guests in the lodge rather than the bunk house. The food there was great but maybe a tad pricey for not that much. They have a nice bar down the rOadt hat do amazing home brewed ale and yummy pizza! Also they need to have a big staff meeting and just stick to a price list!!!! No1 really knew he price for the hot tubs or the food etc etc. it was all confusing and made us feel stressed out. The bunk house was very cold in the days too which wasn't very comfortable. The walks around and the river azul are just breath taking.

He reason I rated poor was because of things just weren't clear enough. Breakfast was confusing, hot tub costs confusing meal times confusing and no definite answers from the staff. But they were all very nice people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaConfluencia, Owner at La Confluencia Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
The reviewer is correct in stating that La Confluencia is away from everything. In fact, that's the idea...those travelers looking for an alternative to noisy towns and cities appreciate our somewhat remote location, spring water on tap, farm-fresh organic produce, and direct access to hiking trails and don't seem to mind the challenge of getting here. And with a little advance notice, we're glad to provide transfers to either the town of El Bolsón or Bariloche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulmarra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We read about La Confluencia a couple of years ago and put it on the must do list. We were picked up as planned at the bus stop in El Bolson by Mark - the co-visionary and creator - and for me, who has had a lifelong dream of having the skills and temerity to create such an organised, working Organic Farm and home stay - it was a place I will hold dear and hope to return to.
The very beautiful and talented Chef Gina, originally from Buenos Aires graced us with first class food, most of which had just been harvested or milled and baked or preserved in house.
Horse riding through the mountains with Eduardo and his trusty steads and finding the amazing Refugio's that offer a smile and a meal for the hikers, who are numerous, was another highlight.
La Confluencia could be marketed on a multifaceted level and would appeal to much more than the serious hikers and volunteers who help to make the whole package work. We were a couple of overworked middle aged women that needed to take refuge from our busy lives and it was absolutely fantastic.
Many blessings upon all who have contributed to this beautiful place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank weenabaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We also stayed at La Confluencia as part of a Sacred Rides Mountain Biking trip. Excellent accommodations and the food was amazing. The location of the lodge is beautiful and there is lots to do (hiking, hot tubbing, going down to the river, biking, horseback riding). We got the suite which was really nice in that it is a bit larger and has a private bathroom. Thank you for the great week!

Room Tip: The suite is bigger and has a private bath. The internet is a bit slow and does not work sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGScottH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at La Confluencia as part of a Sacred Rides Mountain Biking trip. We were the luckiest mountain bikers EVER! The food was FANTASTIC - thank you Gina and staff! The accommodations were beautiful, comfortable and impeccably clean. The setting was absolute paradise, walking down to the river, up to the hot tub or sauna or out into the garden, it didn't matter where you walked, there were stunning views in every direction. Thank you to everyone at La Confluencia for making me feel truly welcome and at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Bolson hotels
0.0 mi away
Cumbres Hotel
Cumbres Hotel
#2 of 3 in El Bolson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Nalcas Mountain Resort & SPA
0.0 mi away
Kumelen
Kumelen
#34 of 62 in El Bolson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morada del Sol Hosteria & Resto de Montana
0.0 mi away
La Casona de Odile
La Casona de Odile
#2 of 62 in El Bolson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Los Teros
Cabanas Los Teros
#1 of 3 in El Bolson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Confluencia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Confluencia Lodge

Property: La Confluencia Lodge
Address: Confluence Blue River & White River, El Bolson 8430, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > El Bolson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in El Bolson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Patagonian lodge, a model of sustainable construction, is in a remote mountain location within a 200,000 acre wilderness preserve with endless adventure activities on site from rafting to rock climbing, and a sauna and outdoor hot tubs with stunning river views. All meals are prepared with organic products from the Confluencia farm: vegetables, fresh milk, eggs, meats, and hearty breads from whole grains harvested and stone-ground at the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Confluencia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing