We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sani Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sani Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sani Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great staff, good food, stocked up bar and there's variety but it ends there. The drive up the Sani pass is the only epic thing really. If you're not driving a 4 x4 do not even attempt to drive past the SA border. There are no shops up in the mountain so buy whatever you need in SA. If you decide to book in the foot of the pass, make sure you go up for a drink in the sani pass lodge, they do offer transport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babalina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    97
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
96
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a magnificent place, if you are a person that likes the rough side of the world then you must visit The Highest Pub in Africa in Lesotho. During this time of the year it snows a lot and the snow looks beautiful on the mountains!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Exotic location on top of the Sani Pass. Highest pub in Africa was nice. Dinner was well a well cooked simple buffett, lamb was great. Well stocked bar.
The family room was big and ok during the day. The little antracite stove was effective when you sat in front of it. It cannot heat up the room. At 2900m with snow and wind ithas mo double glazing and the windows and roof let wind in. The shower is gas drven and is warm for about two minutes, then the water presure is too low and the gas kiks out, icecold from then on.
Hope I never have a night that bad again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Travelling on a budget we decided not to use the chalets but booked the Backpackers for 2 nights and being used to staying at mountain refuges in developing countries, we didn't except the Ritz. The pub was great, warm and cosy with excellent views and we greatly enjoyed hanging out here. Having to return to Backpackers sited some distance way down an unlit track was sobering. The 4 bed room we had was pretty OK, much like a typical dorm with just the bare essentials. We used our own down sleeping bags which kept us warm. The communal lounge area was also adequate although a bit scruffy and in need of a fresh coat of paint and a good clean, and the open fire was great to sit around. The kitchen and communal dining area, sited in a nearby building where we prepared our own meals, need to be much improved and was freezing cold. Our main gripe was the poor sanitation in the adjoining bathrooms. The flush toilets were useable but the showers were disgusting, with broken and cracked concrete comprising the shower tray and grimy tiles with doors that wouldn't close properly. Consequently, as we were the only people staying at Backpackers, we boiled water and took strip washes in front of the coal fire in the lounge rather than face the cold and the grime of the shower block. The place had not long been taken over by new management so we were somewhat forgiving, but they need to pay urgent attention to the sanitation and to roll back the obvious years of quiet neglect to justify what is still quite a hefty price for accommodation of this calibre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KernowPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

New management in place for a year is trying to get much right - not there yet. Great location; great transport service (use the Lodge to collect you from the SA border); great food for a lodge, but not great being required to eat first and expected to finish in an hour to allow for a second sitting, with little to do once dinner is over. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capeintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

we stayed at the back packers part of the lodge and this is just terrible. We all slept in our clothes.
Also the price we payed for the night and the dinner (some chicken with rice and salad) was amazingly high.

The breakfast was really good (also a little bit expensive) but the location is just amazing!!! The host helped us to come back to SA (we came from the Lesotho side by night).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holystone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Top of the Sani pass - it doesn't get mush better than this! We stayed for just one night but we would have stayed longer if we hadn't been committed to our next stop. We stayed in one of the larger dwellings that could have accommodated 6 people in one 'room' - 2 double beds and two bunk beds. The room was clean and pleasingly decorated and furnished - and when the fire was lit - VERY warm. The shower room was just slightly tired but fully functional. As with other locations in many parts of the world electric light and copious hot water were only available when the 'donkey' was running - no hardship there!
The welcome was great, the food was great, and the location ……….!!!!!!!!!!
We could see that some building work was in progress - what a pleasure to watch traditional thatching! We got the distinct impression that the new owner was in the process of upgrading everything - and adding an emphasis on more upmarket 4x4 customers.

We have an interest in bird watching and the location is brimming with fascinating birds - both within the confines of the property and the surrounding area. Brian organised for us to take a walk with a local person to look for Lammergeier and Cape Vulture. We certainly saw both! If only we had had more time to walk further to find the Cape Vulture nests!!! On the only morning we were there Sani top was well above the clouds and to look down on CapeVulture and Rock Kestrel from above and so clearly visible with mist/cloud below them was truly memorable!

We hope to return and by that time we expect Sani Mountain Lodge to be fully worthy of a five star rating!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamboosNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani Pass
12.0 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
15.8 mi away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
81 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mkomazana Mountain Cottages
12.3 mi away
Khotso Lodge and Horse Trails
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Mountain Lodge

Property: Sani Mountain Lodge
Address: Sani Pass, Sani Pass, Lesotho (Formerly Sani Top Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Lesotho > Mokhotlong District > Sani Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sani Pass
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sani Top Chalet Hotel Sani Pass
Sani Top Chalet Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing