We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“30th Anniversary National Miners Strike 1984 / 85”
Review of Afan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Port Talbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary National Miners Strike 1984 / 85”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I needed somewhere to stay near Maesteg,I certainly picked the right place,I have stayed at many places around the world and Afan Lodge has got to rate as one of the best.The location,the lovely scenic surroundings are some of the best you will find.The owners Richard & Louise are great people who can't do enough for you they have assembled a team of staff who are so friendly & helpfuf,the food is lovely the bar is very good and the rooms are comfortable.Well done to you all,keep up the good work,this place comes highly recommened.
Best wishes, Trevor Parsons.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TREVOR063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    37
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
32
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent last weekend at Afan Lodge, 10 of us in our group with children ranging from 2 to 12 years old. We had such a lovely time. The lodge itself is set in such scenic surroundings, the view from our window was incredible over the forest. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even going out one day to buy my 2 year old his own cuttlery. Louise helped us enormously with the best routes to cycle, given our varying abilities and urged us to get out cycling as soon as we arrived. We were very glad we did. There are so many routes to take and views to see, it's worth making every minute out of your stay, no matter the weather.

The breakfast and evening meal was just what you need before / after a day of exploring. Only a few of us made it for lunch as we were out for most of the day, but again, the feedback was very good.

The rooms are very comfortable with all the usual facilities, including tea & coffee, which was essential for those 5 minutes resting once you're back and kicking off your cycling gear. We also felt the lodge and rooms were very safe and were able to put our son to sleep and using his monitor, go and enjoy an evening drink.

My sister was in a family suite, which had a kitchenette with enough space to bring your own food if you wanted to knock together sandwiches etc for lunch.

In the evenings we sat in the bar, most of the time in our sliipers, which felt like a home from home.

I would thoroughly recommend Afan Lodge as somewhere to go if you're into getting out and about / exploring / cycling / hiking etc. All our children loved their stay too, although it's probably not a place to go if you're looking for accommodation which lays on entertainment, especially for young children. We'll definitely be making a trip back!

Room Tip: We were in a double room, which had enough space for us to put up our own travel tent for our toddle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Afan Lodge is a great place to stay. We use it for mountain biking weekends and it couldn't be better. The rooms are great and comfy. The food is tasty and filling and the bar is great and stocks Doom Bar!

Friendly staff and great facilities make this the only place to stay around Afan.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here overnight on the 4th - 5th February which was a mid week stay. My friend and I used this as a place to stay after we had biked the fantastic skyline route in Afan Forrest. Although it wasn't busy because it was mid week with terrible weather this didn't change a thing. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. We got back from a long days ride and the room was all we needed with all the facilities we could ask for. They had a secure place to store the mountain bikes which was great as that meant you didn't have to leave them on, or in the car overnight and you knew that they were safe, I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here previously and i'm glad we did. Although quiet I thought that we might struggle in the bar for food but again this was not the case. The food was cooked fresh for us and was very well priced with a great little bar. I have been to places before and because it wasn't at capacity you were limited with the choice on the menu. Not the case here as the food was out of this world. This was again duplicated at breakfast time with a fantastic breakfast choice. I would definitely stay here again and would take the family with me next time. It is nice to know that if you are out walking or biking and get back a little bit dirty you really don't have to slum it and can relax in an awesome bar with great food afterwards. Put it this way I've stayein some lovely places but this has made me write my first review on Tripadvisor. Excellent and see you again soon.

Room Tip: There are a choice of rooms to cater for all needs including families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonYamYam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was a bit lost for somewhere to go for food,while i was out doing my volunteer driving job,when i came across the Afan Lodge.I called in for breakfast,and i am glad that i did.The staff were very friendly and the breakfast that i had was very appetising.This will be my regular stop when i am in this area

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed for a single night following a visit to BPW, following day was riding the Afan trails.
Having arrived to a warm welcome, we were shown to the room which was spotlessly clean and well catered for. Once showered and freshened up we went downstairs for a bite to eat, food was very tasty and plentiful! The bar area next to the restaurant was modern, warm and decorated with all things bikes. An excellent place for a few chilled drinks and conversation with fellow bikers.
A breakfast of champions was consumed before heading onto the trails (literally on the doorstep), with great local knowledge and instructions we left for more fun..

Would certainly recommend staying at Afan Lodge, good prices, perfect location, warm and welcome hosting, will be returning on our next visit for sure. 5 stars

Room Tip: Location of Afan Lodge means a great nights sleep without noise in all rooms here. You will not be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midlands_MTBbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totnes, devon, england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked very late so as to beat the Christmas bad weather. As Andrew H reported,
"From the minute we arrived we were made extremely welcome, the lodge is spotless"
It is very quiet so you may miss the noise of the main road or the horrendous storm!


I loved it and I"m looking forward to go back and try the trails,
Thanks Afan Lodge.

p.s. nice breakfast and decent Guinness.!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
6.5 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
21.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afan Lodge

Property: Afan Lodge
Address: Afan Road, Port Talbot SA13 3ES, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Afan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afan Hotel Port Talbot
Afan Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing