We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location for a MTB short break, amazing breakfasts & very friendly staff / owners”
Review of Bryn Bettws Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Talbot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Bettws Lodge
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect location for a MTB short break, amazing breakfasts & very friendly staff / owners”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Arrived late on Friday on train to Neath, reception was closed but a quick call to the owner meant I was sorted within 10 mins. This is very good hostel style accomidation, rooms have bunks and are en suite with bedding included. Owners & Staff could not have been more friendly and the breakfast will set you up very nicely for a day on the trails. Speaking of trails they start from the gate but it is easy find reviews of these. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipp-man-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in this bunkhouse for a long weekend (three nights) so that we could go mountain biking in the area.
It is well signposted from the nearby village and has plenty of parking. The site is beautiful, with stunning views into the valley. There is plenty of outdoor seating, play area and even a 4X track!
The welcome on our arrival was very friendly and we were shown to our room, which was very well-equipped for a bunkhouse! The room and bathroom was very clean.
We got a cup of tea from the cafe area. The cafe area had picture windows looking out down the valley and also had a bar, television and plenty of seating.

The bunkhouse was fairly busy during our stay but was overall a very quiet, relaxing place to stay.
Breakfast was the biggest surprise of all - absolutely fantastic with almost everything you could think of on offer (sausage, hash browns, baked beans, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, toast). For vegetarians there were veggie sausages and extra eggs/hash browns.
We had dinner at the bunkhouse one night and it was very good. A choice of meal and pudding too!
The only downside was that our room was by the reception area, which had a vending machine which every few minutes went through a refrigeration cycle and sounded like an aeroplane taking off. This meant it was very hard to sleep, so earplugs a must!

Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMTBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

loved it. we had 6 of us. worked out cheaper than B&Bs. slept 5 comfortably and one in one of their campbeds. very very freindly. no hassle. didn't even see the owners until i dropped the keys off. good (basic) breakfasts in the cafe. all the basics you'd need (plates, glasses, cuttlery, fairly liquid, tv, power sources, fridge, etc). would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only one room per cabin (sleeps 2). all 4 cabins looked the same. ours was one in the middle and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Well what a fab time was had at Bryn Bettws, we booked in 16 boys from our Under 11's rugby team in with 6 coaches for an overnight teambuilding experience. Not many places welcome 16, 11yr old boys but Bryn Bettws did and they had a ball. Plenty of outside space to burn off some of their energy, comfy and warm inside the lodge. BBQ was available so they could have a camp fire and toast mashmallows.
If you are looking for somewhere that is relaxed and welcoming then this place is top of the list.
Will we go again, they were all ready discussing it as we packed up this morning. Fantastic :)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Robby and the team at Bryn Bettws are the perfect hosts. Great laugh. Good facilities - bike wash, bike lock up, DVD and big screen, bar etc. Rooms are always clean and tidy, the food is great and the booze is cheap and freely available. Big fried breakfasts, massive chicken curry. £25 hard to beat.

Plus....great spot to start ride - located at the top of the final descent of The Wall and within a few kilometres of the part of Skyline which leads you to final sections of White's Level....in other words you if you've hit it hard on a Saturday and you want to ease in gently on Sunday morning all the climbing has already been done.

Room for improvements? Jump park gets boggy in patches - needs hard packing down as lose too much speed in mud. When it's quiet it can take a while to find someone if need bike wash / bike lockup - but you could just have a beer while you wait and remember your on holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We just stayed at Bryn Bettws and it was great. very friendly and helpful staff (they may even give you a lift to the train station if you break your ankle!). rooms were clean and the food was great. im not sure what the person who gave the negative comment below was expecting for £25 per night but i can assure you it was great value and perfect for mountain bikers, hikers and alike. Also the kitchens are on full view to the cafe and looked clean to me. Get yourself down there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My daughter and I were walking in the forest and stuck our heads into this lodge for a nose. The owner was there cleaning up after the weekend and even though he didn't know me from adam he gave us free coffee and cake and a guided tour. (we had no money on us) I was really impressed by his enthusiasm and energy, he really gave me the impression that he was willing to bend over backwards to accommodate guests, happy to buy in gluten free bread or veggie sausages. The lodge itself is in an amazing position well off the road with loads of free parking. The dining room has a massive picture window with amazing views. Everything looked really clean and bright. The lodge has a lovely playground outside and BMX track and mountain biking. There are not many places that could keep all ages of kids happy but this is one of them! I definately plan to be back and I am telling all my friends about it.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sheila f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Talbot hotels
1.7 mi away
Afan Lodge
Afan Lodge
#1 of 7 in Port Talbot
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
491 reviews
7.6 mi away
Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm
5.3 mi away
The Twelve Knights
The Twelve Knights
#3 of 7 in Port Talbot
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Bettws Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Bettws Lodge

Property: Bryn Bettws Lodge
Address: Gyfylchi Farm | Pontrhydyfen, Port Talbot SA12 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Port Talbot
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bryn Bettws Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing