We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in the UK for a weekend of riding!”
Review of Bryn Bettws Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Talbot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Bettws Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of the best places in the UK for a weekend of riding!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just returned from a weekend staying in the Bryn Bettws lodge and it couldn't have been better. Huge range of riding, from long XC routes through stunning terrain to a full on, incredibly well made bike park, probably the best I've ridden in the UK and right next to the lodge. Staff were beyond friendly, it was like staying with family, they just did everything they could to make our weekend enjoyable. Food and drinks are cheap as chips and good quality and our room in the lodge was clean, tidy and very reasonably priced, not to mention the fact it overlooked an awesome view of the welsh valleys. Everything you could need in terms of facilities, bike wash, lock up etc. Couldn't recommend the place enough to anyone into riding bikes. Will be going back regularly, well worth the drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This charming little lodge is the perfect place to stay if you're walking, bike riding or horse riding around Afan forest park. The rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast is delicious and a good size and they also offer bargain priced evening meals as well. And the drinks prices are good too. The staff are also very very friendly and helpful. They even have a drying room, bike cleaning facilities and secure bike storage. You can't ask for any more...

Room Tip: If you want a larger than single bed, ask to stay in room 1 ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu_8423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We came in a large group (30) and right from the start they were really hospitable and friendly. Evening meals and breakfast were great - absolutely massive with loads of choice. Lots of choice for drinks and all reasonably priced. The site has a power washer and a drying room, big tv in the dining room which they were happy for us to play our generic Mtb DVDs on all night!

Location is perfect, right in the middle of the wall and next to the 4x track and skills loop. Ideal for doing w2, skyline or a quick loop of the wall.

We'll definitely be back, couldn't be happier with the Bryn Bettws lodge and the staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

excellent place to stay for the mountaining biking or exploring local area,we stayed in a cabin which was clean tidy and had all you needed,beautiful views
highly recommended
owmers very helpful
moutaining bike trails literall start straight from your front door

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrari250gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed at the centre for 2 nights as part of a group of 10 MT bikers. There was a problem with the shower in the main bunkhouse so we were put in 2 of the chalets which were clean and met all our needs added with stunning views. Breakfast was great and the evening meal, while not a la cate, was massive and tasty and just what was needed after a day out on the trails. Meals were when we required them. I thought it was outstanding value for money and perfect for what we wanted.

I would even think of taking the family up for walking or biking next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a cabin, and it was such a let down. We were mostly alone there and the place really was deserted. In order to use the facilities such as hose to wash the bike or the drying room you need to phone someone to come and open it. One day we had no electricity almost all day because of a lightning. We were trying to get hold of someone to find out what is happening, but no success. Another time we were waiting in the rain for 20 minutes for someone to come and open the drying room. Eventually we gave up and went back to the cabin. First day we came it was raining like crazy, we were so wet and cold. Sadly the shower and the heating didn't work. Day after the shower was fixed, but it flooded the floor.
The stuff is helpful and kind when you are lucky to get hold of them over the phone or in the lodge. The food they do is priced well, but we were not lucky to see it open after the rides.

If I was not short of time, I would have asked for a refund and go else were. If you have a dry weather then this place would be fine as you don't need the stuff. The location is superb - right on the Y wall near the zigzag section.

It sound like this place is ok when it is full, but defiantly not when it is empty. I give 2 stars just because of its location...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brnzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Arrived late on Friday on train to Neath, reception was closed but a quick call to the owner meant I was sorted within 10 mins. This is very good hostel style accomidation, rooms have bunks and are en suite with bedding included. Owners & Staff could not have been more friendly and the breakfast will set you up very nicely for a day on the trails. Speaking of trails they start from the gate but it is easy find reviews of these. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipp-man-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Talbot hotels
5.3 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Afan Lodge
Afan Lodge
#1 of 7 in Port Talbot
168 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
482 reviews
7.6 mi away
Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm
5.3 mi away
The Twelve Knights
The Twelve Knights
#3 of 7 in Port Talbot
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Bettws Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Bettws Lodge

Property: Bryn Bettws Lodge
Address: Gyfylchi Farm | Pontrhydyfen, Port Talbot SA12 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Port Talbot
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bryn Bettws Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing