We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are diseving ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

From the outside it looks very run down but as soon as you walk inside it's a different story,nice decore and a friendly greeting the room was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable a good night sleep was had until 5am when the pipes start to make some noisy! Two other down sides wifi was not working and the swimming pool is only open 9am until 9pm so no early morning swim for me! Oh more thing the restaurant is very pricey!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed at the Aberavon Beach Hotel before and would do so again, with some reservations. The staff are friendly and helpful and the inside of the building is well laid out. The bedrooms are small but clean and comfortable. The pool does not open in the morning until 9am. The hotel food is to an acceptable standard. The price is fair for the overall service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Alasdair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Took advantage of a winter break deal to visit our Grandaughter who lives close by so we know and love the area. The steel works at one end of the very long sandy beach does not detract from the lovely views of the beach, sea and across to the Mumbles area. The interior of the hotel is always a welcoming surprise after the stark exterior. Except for a noisy radiator our room was large, comfortable and clean with a side sea view. Breakfast and evening meal was very tasty and came swiftly, the staff very friendly and helpful especially the bar man Sam, quite a character. We stayed in February in gale force winds and heavy rain but were very comfortable once inside the hotel. Would definitely stay again and maybe get to use the pool and spa next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandjunep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank CeriBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed one night Bedrooms v poor eg: no heating at night, no hot water at night, Carpets badly stained all over passages in rooms large wet stains on carpets in middle of room and by bed one shudders to think what caused it. In the room 1 small radiator under window but this is completely covered by well insulated curtain.
Sheet small and not fitted
Excellent reception area, staff very good, breakfast v good
Good rates except for quality of room

Room Tip: We only saw one not sure what others are like Looks like they were flooded on the second floor so...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill1above
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A wonderful place great service great food, great views, nothing was to much trouble. We only booked a short stay this time and We will definitely. be coming back again as it is a central location makes it an ideal base.

Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed here in November 2013 for a business trip.
I chose this hotel because of the great price I got on the room rates, which included all of the leisure facilities.

We received a warmish welcome on arrival.

My room was a decent size and nicely furnished. The view outside was of the sea, which was very nice.

I used the swimming pool all 3 days and it was more or less empty. The steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were an added bonus and I made good use of these too.

On the second night (a Saturday), there was a busy wedding on, and whilst trying to sleep there was a lot of noise with kids running about on the second floor. I even had my door knocked on a few times - This was the only downer on an otherwise pleasant stay.

The restaurant served very nice food for Dinner, and the breakfasts were also above average.

If in this area again, I would definately choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
792 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: £47 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing