We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    296
    119
    34
    35
See reviews for
165
235
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked last minute, through booking.com for my husbands birthday.

On arrival, we were a bit disappointed with the exterior appearance of the hotel. Although it has a large car park, the building itself looked quite shoddy, and could do with a groundsman of some sorts, as the plants surrounding the entrance, were littered with rubbish, and cigarette butts, So first impressions, weren't great.

However, we arrived in reception, to be greeted, by the most loveliest, friendly receptionist. She was just lovely, and explained the layout of the hotel, pointing out the bar area, restaurant, and pool area, before handing us our key.

The room itself was great. Very clean, although the view wasn't the best. lovely en-suite, with very comfortable double bed, TV, and tea & coffee facilities, which was a welcome sight after a 90min drive!

Plenty of hot water in the shower, Lovely fresh, crisp white bed linen, and fluffy white towels.

After a good nights sleep, we headed down to the restaurant around 8.45am for breakfast. We were immediately given a table, and told to help ourselves to cereal, toast and fruit juice, and that someone would take our order for anything cooked. However, once we placed the order for some bacon, eggs, beans and mushrooms, it was a whole 55mins before we received it.. And then couldn't eat it, as everything had been fried, and was swimming in oil.(yuk!)

We checked out at 11am as requested, and the same receptionist that was there on our arrival, was behind the desk. She was very apologetic about the restaurant service.

On reflection of our stay, I paid just £70 for 1 nights b&b, and believe it was value for money. I wouldnt have paid the full price of £149, however I would stay at this hotel again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balehberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Absolutely terrible…….advertised as "high speed internet throughout the hotel" thats a joke, no internet what so ever !!! Dogs running around the corridors of the hotel, eating and drinking and barking at all hours of the night. Staff very unhelpful…… Save your money and sleep on the beach outside, you'll get better service !!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here, its like a ZOO …… DUMP !!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stay at the Aberavon Beach Hotel regularly when we visit relatives in the local area. The hotel is not the prettiest from the outside, however, inside it is tastefully decorated and the rooms have been recently redecorated. The bed is comfortable and we always get a good nights sleep. The view from rooms does vary from beach views to the rear car park of the local shops and taxi company.
The staff are always friendly. Breakfast is good with a range of options including continental, cooked, kippers and haddock.
The location is close to the beach, so great for morning, daytime and evening walks. We have not eaten in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When we pulled up outside this hotel we were all thinking what have we done, well once inside the hotel it was a pleasant surprise nice large open bar area and they had a swimming pool and sauna although we didn't use. Rooms were a little on the small side but not bad and the breakfast was really good. We had a good long walk along the beach which is just across the road, overall not to bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superblue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights for business at the start of April 2014. I found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, and the rooms modern and clean. The hotel has a splash pool but no gym. The resturant food was excellent but the bar lacked atmosphere. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It is true that this hotel has not been blessed with good looks. However, it is fine inside. The room we were in was very small, but well laid out. Public areas are spacious. Extremely dog friendly.
Downsides - room was ridiculously hot; wifi was awful; Sunday breakfast didn't start until 8am
Upsides - nice breakfast; friendly staff; late check out for modest premium; very nice to my dog!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donstar086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing