We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero kerb appeal but dont pass it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel. We have never been to the Port Talbot area and were not prepared for the industrial landscape and depressing area (sorry residents of Port Talbot) that is there. As we approached the hotel with trepidation we were horrified to see the outside of it. A rusty conservatory, a characterless box of a building with abandoned businesses, warehouses and car parks around it. HOWEVER, once inside we were astonished to find an immaculate, modern, spotlessly clean hotel with very helpful staff! Our rooms were bright and comfortable, the towels were really soft and they even provided towels if you wanted to use the pool and jacuzzi. Our twin beds had one soft and one hard so everyone was catered for!
We had breakfast each day which was cooked to order (apart from Saturday) and was excellent! Beautifully cooked and presented and generous portions.
We had 2 twin rooms and both of them clearly had a problem with the windows. One room had a howling gale blowing through a CLOSED window! and the other let rain in. But that was the only fault we could find. The swimming pool is small and the changing rooms cramped but acceptable. The sauna was not switched on sadly and the jacuzzi could have been a bit warmer. But children were allowed in (and we had about 6 plus their parents in it with us at one point!) so I guess they kept it cooler for that.
The staff at this hotel are clearly working really hard and there was an abundance of certificates at reception for best hotel categories. But the outside of the hotel is appalling and lets the staff down immensely. If you were driving round on spec you wouldn't want to go here!
Its right on the sea front and we had a side view of it. The beach is clean but the ever-present cranes and factories are in your periphery. For a modern, comfortable nights stay its well worth it. Best Western need to inject some money into its external appearance and especially new windows.

Room Tip: We were on the top (3rd) floor with the lift outside our room which had an automated voice announcin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katerugbyRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The outside of the hotel looks a little cold, but the WARM, welcoming staff inside make your visit worthwhile. The refurbished rooms were small but adequate, and had most things you needed. This was our first time at a B.Western and we look forward to staying at another of their hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank 656anns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The amenities and staff in this hotel are exceptionally good as is the quality of the food. Very good value for money - would definitely recommend. It is an excellent hotel very well situated on the sea front.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here to watch a Swansea match - about 20 minutes away. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the leisure facilities very good. The room had a great sea view but there was no heating. Had a great value b b evening meal rate but the food was average at best. The wife's prawn starter was in edible! The beach here is excellent.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank hansardtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent value and good accommodation. Hotel much better inside that out. (never judge a book by its cover certainly applies here!) Aberavon Se front is excelklent, howvere more 'up' market development/investment is needed. The external appearancer of the hotel is a bit 'down-market' due to the very oedinary architecture. Inside itr is warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank S.david H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank P9296XXpeterm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked last minute, through booking.com for my husbands birthday.

On arrival, we were a bit disappointed with the exterior appearance of the hotel. Although it has a large car park, the building itself looked quite shoddy, and could do with a groundsman of some sorts, as the plants surrounding the entrance, were littered with rubbish, and cigarette butts, So first impressions, weren't great.

However, we arrived in reception, to be greeted, by the most loveliest, friendly receptionist. She was just lovely, and explained the layout of the hotel, pointing out the bar area, restaurant, and pool area, before handing us our key.

The room itself was great. Very clean, although the view wasn't the best. lovely en-suite, with very comfortable double bed, TV, and tea & coffee facilities, which was a welcome sight after a 90min drive!

Plenty of hot water in the shower, Lovely fresh, crisp white bed linen, and fluffy white towels.

After a good nights sleep, we headed down to the restaurant around 8.45am for breakfast. We were immediately given a table, and told to help ourselves to cereal, toast and fruit juice, and that someone would take our order for anything cooked. However, once we placed the order for some bacon, eggs, beans and mushrooms, it was a whole 55mins before we received it.. And then couldn't eat it, as everything had been fried, and was swimming in oil.(yuk!)

We checked out at 11am as requested, and the same receptionist that was there on our arrival, was behind the desk. She was very apologetic about the restaurant service.

On reflection of our stay, I paid just £70 for 1 nights b&b, and believe it was value for money. I wouldnt have paid the full price of £149, however I would stay at this hotel again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balehberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
505 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
741 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
802 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing