We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aberavon Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    307
    124
    37
    37
See reviews for
178
252
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although the hotel is on the edge of a housing estate and looks drab and weary from the outside, it is lovely inside. Nice swimming pool, well decorated and relaxing lounge bar and restaurant. The room was very clean and quiet and very comfortable bed. The TV was rather dated but no problem. Hotel good location overlooking the seafront, perfect for an evening stroll along the beach or promenade.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank TinaE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for one Saturday night at the end of June. On the positive side we were welcomed and our room was lovely with a gorgeous sea view and extremely comfortable bed. Toiletries were provided and the towels were soft and fluffy. Free wifi was available and all was looking good.

Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked with 2 parties going on which meant very loud music until midnight. We queued at the bar for bar food/drinks but didn't get served, were shown to a table in the restaurant but the waitress failed to return to take our order. We gave up and ate out. When we asked at reception for more milk to go with the tea and coffee in our room there was none left as the hotel was full and we were told to ask at the bar........still huge queues there so we didn't bother. There was cigarette ash on our bedroom window sill from the previous guests and water starting leaking through the light fitting in the bathroom. The Manager was very understanding and helpful but unfortunately as the hotel was full he couldn't offer us a comparable room. He did however reduce our bill for us which was a nice gesture.

We would stay here again as the hotel is in a lovely position directly opposite the beach and it was just our bad luck to book a room on such a busy Saturday night. The bedroom was very comfortable and the reception staff and Manager were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on a high floor in case there is a disco going on downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tazzat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visited this hotel with my husband as part of a Shearings coach holiday. When we arrived the outside of the hotel was a shock even though I had read previous reviews, but when we walked inside the contrast was amazing. We were warmly greeted by staff and offered tea and coffee.
Our room was pleasant ant comfortable although the lights were a bit confusing as they were controlled by a main switch which we didn't quite get the hang of!
The food was very good especially the choice for breakfast although the service varied.
I would recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay in the area although there isn't a lot to do apart from a stunning sandy beach opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed on b&b + dinner basis from 4 August 2014, & out sightseeing during daytime. The hotel seems to be new, very clean; my room was comfortable, had everything I needed. Evening meals were delicious, as was breakfast (excellent choice), fast service at table. There is an indoor pool & jacuzzi (tho' I didn't have time to use them).
I really liked the beachside position of this hotel - so pleasant to stroll along the beach (has won awards for cleanliness) when tide is out, For young children the beach is sandy, level, & there's also a small public paddling pool along the promenade where parents can supervise little ones, also an icecream parlour/cafe,, Four Winds pub/restaurant next door,(small supermarket beyond that with ATM). The Aberavon is very good value.

Room Tip: For rooms at the side next to the Four Winds pub, close your window at night as deliveries are made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic weeks holiday had at this hotel.
Have been here a few times now and never had a bad experience. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and the room a good size and must say the most comfortable bed ever. The food is really good but would like a more down to basics option in the restaurant. Fantastic hotel keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilDoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
491 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
775 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
718 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing