We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
Ranked #47 of 78 Restaurants in Port Talbot
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Bit of a mixture here. The carvery at 2 for £10 Mon-Fri was excellent value as you could pile the plate high with as much veg as you like. However the other meals are hit and miss. Our last visit I had the rump steak - never again. Must have been hacked from the ropiest old cow ever. If they're going to serve that sort of rubbish they need to invest in some sharper knives and supply toothpicks. Hubby had gammon which was fine, but both meals looked lost on the plates. Sorely lacking in the chip department and the most basic accompaniment of one mushroom and a handful of peas. We were almost finished by the time they brought out the extra onion rings we ordered. A little bit more effort and this place would be very nice for a mid-week eatery.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidEEvans, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we will take the negative comments on board and improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    107
    75
    44
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Boring staff had no interaction”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Took visiting family there for meal felt let down as heard good things about place.food was good value but that was seen in meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidEEvans, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dissapointing to hear your comments, We always take our feedback seriously and therefore if you would like to discuss your experience, do not hesitate to contact me at the Copper Penny.
01639820146
Thank you
David Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice carvery here and good to see both small portion and larger portion options. The menu offers a good choice as well as the carvery and it is worth looking out for when they have offers on, as they do sometime on drinks and food. We have eaten here many times and will be visiting again soon I am sure. The staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidEEvans, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Julie
glad you enjoyed your experience and thank you for your comments
Hope to be of service to you again in the future.
To keep up to date with our offers, you can sign up to our database at the copper penny web page, apologies if you have already done so
David Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much Better Experience !!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Visited Copper Penny again for meal on a Sunday (early evening) and what a difference. The waitress Sharon made the experience much better this time. She was friendly and attentive - so much better than the last time we ate there. e Food was good, and although the only meat left on the carvery was the beef, the chef cooked a chicken breast for one of our party who only eats white meat. A much better visit than the last time!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GILLIAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidEEvans, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Gillian
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit on Sunday and an improvement on the previous time.
We do strive to excel in our offering of food and service, and ocassionally we fail to deliver this, however I am glad we restored some confidence in our business with your recent vsit.
Thank you for your comments.
And we hope to see you again soon

Did you know you can sign up to our database by signing up to a free drink at the Copper Penny pub web page.
David Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port talbot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“AMAZING ! ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Staff were amazing ! We came for our son 20th birthday party and all staff were amazing and food was beautiful !
Will be returning 100% !
Thanks guys !

Helpful?
Thank Supersim18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidEEvans, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi
thank you for your great feeback comments, So pleased to hear that your son's 20th Birthday celebrations were enjoyed with the help of our team.
Hope o see you again soon.

Be the first to find out about our great offers
Did you know you can sign up to our database by signing up to a free drink at the Copper Penny pub web page.

David Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing