We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere!”
Review of The Somerset Arms

The Somerset Arms
Ranked #31 of 81 Restaurants in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Somerset Arms is a family run pub in the heart of Taibach. It's the perfect place to enjoy classic pub food and drink at affordable prices. Our bar/restaurant is suitable for all occasions with buffets catered for. We are family friendly, serving kids meals, we have a ramp entrance at the front to accommodate prams and wheelchairs and have baby changing facilities. We serve homemade meals with homemade chips (Peeled, chipped and cooked on premises!) We have recently introduced Real Ale, and frequently try guest ales. EXCITING NEWS After a lot of hard work we have just undergone a big refurbishment of our Restaurant! Come check it out!
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My partner and I have visited the Sker on several occasions and have always had lovely meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food has been fresh and delicious every time.
The chips here are to die for and definitely home made!
The atmosphere is brilliant, they also have good bands on during weekends. The drinks and food are very reasonable. Definitely a favourite place to eat out for a special occasion, especially since the change in management last year as the new menu offers a great range of meals for everyone's taste.
The new cocktails introduced have offered lots more choice and an alternative to the traditional draughts and spirits.
Its nice to see a local pub going strong, always with a lively atmosphere and a very enjoyable evening out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauralewis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“40 minute wait in empty restaurant”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

since having new staff had a lovley meal there we went back a few weeks later for a meal with our daugther for a treat, mistake even thou there were only two other people there we had wait wait 40mins for bbq chicken and a curry after having to ask were our food was and nearly walking out food came with very sour faced waitress who plonked our food down and walked off without a word the food was of a cheap quality and its a real shame cause we are local and enjoy a family meal but having talked to other locals we all in agreement that the food and staff are a let down

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxy160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely pub - fabulous food!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Me and my partner went here for food! Excellent wide choice of food to choose from! All of which is freshly cooked! Not many pubs do these days! We were greeted by friendly staff. The food portion was excellent and great value for money! The drinks are very well priced!
The overall pub is warm and welcoming! The Christmas decorations made me feel more festive!
Will definitely be going back there again! I hear it's been taken over by a young couple and have to say they are doing a fantastic job!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Towen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect pub grub!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visited quite a few times and have never been disappointed with the food. You can definitely tell it's all home made and attention to detail in the presentation. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank May-may26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very friendly pub, good value food. The recent introduction of a decent ale and a bit of salad with the meals was most welcome. Really good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minsc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Somerset Arms also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to The Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing