We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely B&B in a great location. We stayed for 1 night as we were there to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. Our room was lovely - very comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was great in a lovely conservatory and the staff were friendly and helpful. The B&B is right in the middle of Maldon so was perfect for us as the party was a 5 minute (if that) walk away. Comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: Although we were on the ground floor next to the road and by the front door, I still slept really we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    54
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
84
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at The Limes for one night to attend a family wedding. The family party of four adults included my mother who is in her eighties, she and I shared a ground floor room in the newer annex, all I had to do was mention my mother's age and this excellently planned and appointed room was suggested. Another member of the group was vegetarian and breakfast was no problem.
The quality and quantity of breakfast was more than we could have hoped for, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about Maldon and it's surrounding area. Really we can't fault our stay at The Limes.
The CCTV screen at the exit from the car park works perfectly for giving drivers a clear view of the road in real time.
We plan to return for a few days exploring Maldon, we will definitely stay at The Limes.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties with physical mobility ask for room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The welcome on arrival was friendly and efficient. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was well cooked and very tasty. I would recommend a short stay as very convenient for local area and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing one night stay at the Limes. Our room was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. The weather was very humid but a fan had been thoughtfully provided. The bathroom was very nice and clean, with a really powerful shower and was well equipped with all the lotions and potions you would require. The breakfast was excellent, with local bacon and sausages and eggs from their own chickens. The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. An ideal place to stay to explore Maldon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockmount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
global
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our room was very small and had absolutely no airflow. If you stay in the summer like we did the hotel is very hot and most rooms are hot and stuffy. There is also a VERY busy road right next to the hotel and you will hear ( and smell ) the traffic pretty much all day and night! Our bathroom had the smallest shower I have ever seen and I had to walk in sideways to get to the sink! Our room never got cleaned in the 3 days we stayed there...I asked the staff to please service the room but they never did. My mother fell ill and we had to cut our trip short but the hotel STILL insisted on us paying in full for our two last nights! We left early that morning so the hotel had ample time to find customers for our two rooms - charging us for the full amount which I think was very poor!! I will never go back to this place and I would absolutely not recommend anyone else to go here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Manager at The Limes, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us here at the Limes Guest House, your comments are important to us as we endeavour to maintain the high standards we have set ourselves to ensure every visitors experience is an enjoyable one. So the fact that you say that your stay with us was not totally enjoyable is a great disappointment to all the staff here at the Limes. To respond to the comments you made:
At the time of your stay the country was experiencing record breaking high temperatures so we made sure that every room had an air cooling fan. Also as you know the guest house is situated in the town centre of Maldon as stated on our web site, this is why so many people choose to stay with us here for the convenience of the towns many amenities, there is some traffic noise at times but this is minimal. The room you stayed in was at the rear of the property and you booked this room having viewed it beforehand. The housekeeping staff did inquire on a daily basis if you required your room to be made up but you declined saying that you were resting. We were advised that a member of your party was unwell and had decided to leave early and as a gesture of goodwill on our part a discount was given. Our stated terms are that we require a 48 hour notice period to cancel your stay with us, as your party decided to leave that same day two days earlier than you booked we could not give refunds as our policy clearly states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had a wedding in Maldon and needed one night's accommodation, The Limes Guest house was ideal, friendly staff, great location to the high street yet quiet surroundings. My room was ideal, it was clean, fresh and had great facilities such as water, coffee/tea, kettle, biscuits. The bathroom proveded lots of towels with mini shampoos/shower gels etc. You also had a great selection choice for your breakfast. Overall, very pleased with The Limes and would definately stay there again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NicBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Arrived late Friday night to be greeted in the car park by the owner (great little touch).
Very clean and homely feel to the place.
We had one of the rooms with a four poster bed. Room was decorated lovely.
Only downside was the bathroom was a little too small but didn't have an impact on our stay.
Breakfast provided was delicious with a varied choice. Juices, tea, coffee along with cereal (some provided by relatives of owners who farm and produce their own cereal) then you have a choice of Full English or items on toast.
First morning we had Full English which was delicious and second morning I had scrambled egg (which are fresh from their chickens) with smoked salmon on toast which again was delicious.
Overall a lovely stay and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjej8273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
0.7 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
230 reviews
8.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
545 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,534 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
694 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: 21 Market Hill, Maldon CM9 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Maldon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing