We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointing room for the price”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

we stayed here with my parents and sister, my parents paid just £10 more for their room (£90) which was situated in the actual house and was nice, my sisters room was a twin room and was also nice at £80 , but we were put in the new out building for the same price of £80 and our room was half the size with no character at all and a squeeze to walk round the bed and get ready !!, also it was cold and there seemed to be no way of turning the radiator on so!! i dont think its fair to charge the same amount for the pokey room we were given in the out building compared to the spacious rooms inside the actual guest house and felt that this was just greed on the owners part !! maybe a lower price would be better suited for the lower standard smaller rooms ?! on the plus side the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristyburton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Limes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My man treated me to a gorgeous weekend away and chose The Limes in Maldon as the place to stay as we planned to visit Battlesbridge for the antique centers. Wow what a find, The Limes in Maldon. Just off the Maldon High Street, tucked away and the outside is just a taster of what to find inside...

We parked, next to the chickens and walked across to the office, and as if from nowhere a lovely lady appeared with a friendly smile to greet us. We were shown to our room, Room 2, which was just Gorgeous, yes, Gorgeous with a capital G. We opened the door into a small lobby, which had a side table with a crystal decanter of Sherry sat waiting to welcome us "don't mind if we do", it was lovely thank you.
Then we turned and had the wow factor - a very long, very high ceiling room with barn beams was waiting for us, just stunning, and stood proudly in middle a huge solid four poster bed with drapes and lovely bed linen. The room had two sets of windows on different walls with lovely voiles, a large flat screen TV on a high set of draws, lovely old solid wood furniture, a pair of matching armchairs with a table with tea,coffee,chocolate and water and lovely wooden floor. The style, decor and soft furnishings all complemented each other and gave the room a luxury feel and despite the size of the room, was very cosy and snug.

The bathroom was cleverly incorporated into the room tucked in the corner and was adequate having a basin, toilet and shower cubicle. The door into the bedroom had a little lobby area which had a side table with sherry decanter and two glasses, lovely little gesture plus the sherry was superb! There was tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water in the room, which was great.

The decor, cleanliness and smell of the bedroom was immaculate. It is the only place I have ever stayed, that despite having hard floors (no carpet) had no nasties to be trodden on, no dust, no hairs, no dirt just a very clean spotless floor. Now getting in to bed may be difficult for some as it it high, I am 5'6" and my legs did dangle when sat on the side, although I loved the whole Princess and the Pea feel about being in the bed, despite the height it was a very comfortable.

On our way out for dinner that evening, we met the proprietor, well actually we could smell his cooking on the hugh AGA in the kitchen and he stopped to have a chat with us. With chatted about the property and the area and all in all what a lovely man...

Breakfast Sunday morning was chosen by us the evening before and was ready when we arrived, fantastic choice of full English, bacon and sausages having come from the cousin's local farm, eggs from the chickens in the yard and was all lovely on top of cereals, fresh fruit salad, and home-made jams (made by the proprietor, I actually was too full too try these which was a disappointment).

To sum up, romantic, cosy, luxury, extremely clean, huge room, warm, and very welcoming, this is one place we will definitely be returning to without any hesitation, we are coming again before Christmas...make sure you add it to your list and don't pass it by!

(Lorraine, I didn't get a chance to ask you, but after our chat with the owner, he mentioned you'd be able to let me know what the Dorma linen is called on the four poster as I want to order a set for home, can you please let me know?)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Room was spacious and well appointed, although I could not find a hair dryer. shower small and no towel rail, which meant the towels were kept on the toilet floor. Bed was hard but apart from these winges it was a nice place. No one around AM so checked out alone!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in the annex by the car park, where we had a lovely double room decorated with soft blues, giving a seaside atmosphere.
We decided to stay an additional night and were given a lovely family room at the top of the old house. Again, it was beautifully furnished with wooden floor and exposed beams.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were freshly cooked to order.
I can thoroughly recommend The Limes.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eastanglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Invited to Maldon for a friend's birthday bash on a sailing barge (a wonderful event), we knew we wouldn't be able to drive home afterwards. The Limes sounded the nicest of the locations available, so we booked it and were very pleased. Good welcome on arrival: although we'd booked through booking.com, the reception girl let us see various other rooms and we plumped for an upgrade for a very reasonable surcharge. Beautiful four-poster bed, nice (if quaint) bathroom. Superb breakfast in nice conservatory area: even the garden at the back is a lovely spot for a coffee. Limes has a handy car park at rear (parking in the town is a challenge). All staff really pleasant and helpful: nothing was too much trouble.
Well-situated for a stroll round the town and down to the quayside.
Shall revise my opinion of B&Bs versus hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely B&B in a great location. We stayed for 1 night as we were there to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. Our room was lovely - very comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was great in a lovely conservatory and the staff were friendly and helpful. The B&B is right in the middle of Maldon so was perfect for us as the party was a 5 minute (if that) walk away. Comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: Although we were on the ground floor next to the road and by the front door, I still slept really we...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at The Limes for one night to attend a family wedding. The family party of four adults included my mother who is in her eighties, she and I shared a ground floor room in the newer annex, all I had to do was mention my mother's age and this excellently planned and appointed room was suggested. Another member of the group was vegetarian and breakfast was no problem.
The quality and quantity of breakfast was more than we could have hoped for, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about Maldon and it's surrounding area. Really we can't fault our stay at The Limes.
The CCTV screen at the exit from the car park works perfectly for giving drivers a clear view of the road in real time.
We plan to return for a few days exploring Maldon, we will definitely stay at The Limes.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties with physical mobility ask for room 9.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
0.7 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
233 reviews
8.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
551 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,598 reviews
19.0 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
995 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Address: 21 Market Hill, Maldon CM9 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maldon
Price Range: £98 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Maldon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing