We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of jolly sailor

jolly sailor
Reserve with OpenTable
jolly sailor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 97 Restaurants in Maldon
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: SERVING A FULL MENU LUNCH & EVENING . SUNDAY CARVERY FOOD SERVED ALL DAY DURING THE SUMMER LARGE GARDEN OVER LOOKING THE RIVER BLACKWATER DOGS WELCOME. WE ARE TRADITIONAL 17TH CENTURY PUB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Chips were undercooked. No veg with kids meals kids meals look like out of packet . Plus side big portions

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miniboyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    28
    11
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mothers day carvery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Disgusting !!!! Black roast potatos watery veg. Worse carvery ive ever had. All in our party of 7 were very disappointed. Coke and beer tasted watery. Carvery area miles to small. Very limited choice of veg and only 2 meats... never again

Helpful?
1 Thank morrisKali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and huge portions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We ate lunch here a few weeks ago as we were nearby. Not an overly large pub but you cant say the same about the food portions! I started with Chicken Liver pate and toast which was very nice indeed and certainly plenty of it. Could have come with a little less pate and a bit more salad to dress it but that said I really enjoyed it! My husband had a tuna salad to start and that did come with a lot of salad but plenty of tuna too. The lovely lady serving us ( and attending the bar) asked if we wanted a break before our main course and in hindsight we should have probably taken that as when the fish and chips came the portions were again very generous. The fish was excellent as were the chips. So we didn't have room or even a need for pudding or even a meal later that night. We are not often in Maldon or down that way but we will definitely go back there to eat when we next are.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sailingjohnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Quite basic food, especially the childrens meals which don't even come with a vegetable. In a nice position next to the Hythe but enormous tv was too distracting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reallywrenchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Valentine's Night meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My Husband and I booked to go here for Valentines Day as we had never eaten there before, and we have recently purchased a Tastecard, which they kindly accepted on that night.

We did not have the Valentine's menu, we simply stuck with the ordinary menu, which apparently had recently been changed. We were absolutely chuffed with the food - the portions were extremely generous, which blows my Husband's theory out of the water that you get reduced portions when using a Tastecard! The food quality was excellent.

I cannot finish without mentioning the service. We were greeted warmly, the staff were very friendly, had a laugh with us and the service itself from ordering to the food being delivered was excellent.

Thank you to all at the Jolly Sailor. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed jolly sailor also viewed

 

Been to jolly sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing