We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jolly Stay With The Sailors!”
Review of The Jolly Sailor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maldon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Jolly Sailor
Ranked #7 of 11 Maldon B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Jolly Stay With The Sailors!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Family commitments meant a visit to Essex but also wanted a couple of nights away. Staff all friendly and accommodating. Good beer and decent breakfast. Front bedroom smallish but everything you need plus great view. Rear room much larger and baby slept well in travel cot. Food was plentiful but far from ideal for cardio issues! My problem not there's! Beer was good. Would stay again if break plus duty needed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for just one evening over the Easter break (2104).

What a wonderful location.

Arrived during a very busy lunch time, but were promptly escorted to our room (thank you!).

Spent a great day at Maldon promenade in the park playing games, and then later we had dinner at the Jolly Sailor - The food was absolutely lovely and portions were huge! (If you are eating here I recommend you skip lunch), would have loved to have finished but had no room.

Everybody we met here from the Jolly Sailor were so friendly and helpful, making our stay very special. Our room was very comfortable, clean and fresh - thank you. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, cooked perfectly. would recommend The Jolly Sailor to family , friends and anyone who may read this.

Kind regards,
Ian

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Went with husband for early New Year's Eve drink and there were already many groups chatting creating a very warm atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, such a Maldon welcome. Have been many times before including Mothers Day lunch and never disappointed

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a lovely meal here recently - great tasting food and more than generous portions. Prawn cocktail to start was four times the size of a typical pub starter, and the homemade fish pie was very tasty.

Prices are very reasonable - and even better using a Taste Card to get a 2for1 deal on each course!

Very friendly staff, and a lovely atmosphere in this nautical themed pub/restaurant overlooking the quayside

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Grumpy owner. Food not bad, but last.time we were there fish and chips well overcooked. Had to go and get own condiments and cutlery. Service not to good tables left uncleared etc. Fresh seafood very good, would go back. Much bigger servings at next pub. And better service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Never been to Maldon before, went for the day and night to de-stress, and my stay in Maldon and at the Jolly sailor did it. The staff, were welcoming, helpful and caring. The food was wholesome and reasonably priced. The music in the bar was excellent, and found myself knowing each track!, and i heard nothing when i went to bed. The beers on offer were good and cheaper to what i am used to. They offer a daily fixed 2 hours in the evening, where a pint would be £3. The rooms were clean, spacious, lovely and warm, and overall comfortable for one night or longer. Happy that i stayed here and will return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The room I had at this hotel was lovely, nicely decorated and clean. The staff were amazingly friendly and very polite and nice.
The only problem I experienced while staying here was that I could hear all the noise from the pub below, and as most pubs open until after 11pm, I couldn’t get to sleep. I also experienced problems with the plumbing system, if someone in one of the other rooms flushed their toilet (or maybe down stairs in the pub), the toilet pump in my room would go off (making a suction noise), this wouldn’t have been a problem if I was staying away on holiday but I was away for a business meeting and had to be up very early the next morning. I'm quite a light sleeper so don’t let this deter you if your not, I’m just giving my opinion.

In summary a friendly, nice hotel, which i recommend if your not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
3.6 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.7 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#6 of 11 in Maldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hanson House
Hanson House
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Sailor

Property: The Jolly Sailor
Address: Church Street, Maldon CM9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Maldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Jolly Sailor Maldon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing