We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday lunch”

The Old Ship Public House
Ranked #78 of 101 Restaurants in Maldon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Friday lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Having seen The Old Ship on previous visits to Heybridge Basin, we decided to try it. They have a good varied menu with prices to match. Staff are pleasant, courteous and greet you with a smile. We had Cod and Chips which tasted very good and portion sizes were good as well. Situated in a very good location on a lock where at the right times you would be able to see boats coming and going. Will be going back again.k

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    23
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Soup lunch was fine”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Lock was full to bursting when we finished our morning walk so we tried The Old Ship dispite it's somewhat run down appearance. The service was polite and the soup very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnJoyce32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A group of five of us ate here, all ordering different meals. We were all disappointed at the quality of the food and one person even left most of his. The pub looked like it had seen better days, the carpet was dirty, and as soon as we had finished our meal we were glad to leave.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 373Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off peak lunch, don't bother”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Ploughmans lunch, I would have paid more for a better product. The tasty but minuscule portions of ingredients, were presented on a tiny oval plate. A delightful experience it was not. The food tasted ok but there simply was not enough of it, at £7.50 it was not good value.Serviced happened because we were delivered the food at the table.

Would I return for another ploughmans lunch ? I think I I would choose somewhere else, not based on price alone but the general presentation, quantity and quality being below par.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwajimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very disappointed. There seems to be different staff in each time we go in. Attitude of one staff member was just arrogant. We ordered a baguette which was still part baked and doughy. The meal was meant to be accompanied by salad and chips. The salad was dry and bland. We did not get crisps but some sort of tasteless alternative. We will not be going back we will use the lock and other establishment next door.
Change your attitude and food presentation or you will be closing down. There are plenty of good pubs in Maldon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresaandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Ship Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Ship Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing