We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding place ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heybridge Basin

Heybridge Basin
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner are always over this way nice ride out on the motorbike & then walk along the canal bank up to the pub for a Sunday lunch and a pint it's well worth a vist here watching the boats in & out the locks

Helpful?
1 Thank Hursty46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    83
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sunny Walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We heard this was a nice place to visit in the summer. Unfortunately, the day we went (Monday), the river boat was not running, which cut our visit short. Fish and chips were for lunch, followed by a walk up and down the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
199 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good walks, tea rooms & pubs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

There is surpisingly a lot to do at Heybridge Basin.
A reasonable size free car park is a good start, a couple of decent pubs, very good tea room, a lock leading to the canal and good walks either way 1) The shorter one over the lock and follow the seawall footpath with views across the blackwater river to Maldon 2) Left around the basin perimeter then follow the sea wall to the osea island causway then if you fancy onto Goldhanger and Tollesbury.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Huge sky and great views across the water. Good teashop, too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Heybridge Basin is always a good place to take visitors or just go by ourselves to take a walk along the canal towpath and around the basin. Beautiful in summer and, even in the winter months if the weather is OK, there is a great sense of being in the open air, with the expanse of sky and water and views over towards the town of Maldon.
Plenty of sea birds around (though I'm not a birdwatcher and probably miss all the most interesting ones!) and we've even seen a seal basking on the mud banks on one visit.

The Lock tea room operated by Tiptree jam makers Wilkin & Sons Ltd is always a welcome stop for tea or coffee and a - perhaps too tempting - choice of cakes, scones etc, the latter served unsurprisingly with the company's excellent jams. What's not to like?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Famous Tiptree Jams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

After a lovely walk along the sea wall of the Blackwater Estuary we had 'High tea' in The Lock tea rooms. Beautifully presented sandwiches, scones with an array of the famous Tiptree jams and fancy cakes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heybridge Basin also viewed

 

Been to Heybridge Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing