We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub and great food.”

The Waggon and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Oxspring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated within a Yorkshire valley just a short hop from the Trans Pennine Trail, you'll find a warm welcome at the Waggon Here at the Waggon we pride ourselves on the quality of our ingredients and our service. Our restaurant is a traditional, cosy country pub with a roaring log fire to warm you in the winter months and an outside eating area for when the weather is kinder. Wherever possible we use locally sourced ingredients. Special Events We host regular special evenings such as wine tasting, fine wine, fine dining ,spiritualist nights etc Special diets Many of our menu items are Gluten Free or can be offered as a gluten-free option, please ask, our staff will be happy to advise. We also have some vegetarian offerings. If you have any other special dietary needs, please enquire. Private parties Celebrate a birthday with us and we'll provide a free cake and gift for the birthday girl or boy if you book a table for 4 or more, let us know you're celebrating a birthday and we'll do the rest.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great pub and great food.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visted this pub several times. Had lunch here on my 50th birthday. Had meat pie Great!.
Beer nice too.
Nice people that work there.

Will be visiting again in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammybSheffield, Owner at The Waggon and Horses, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor.

We always endeavour to provide a five star service in terms of hospitality and food and we feel privileged when customers take the time to tell us that they have had an enjoyable experience.

We value your custom and look forward to once again welcoming you to The Waggon and Horses sometime in the near future.

Samantha Brewis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    65
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My new favourite pub”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went here with my aunt and uncle for lunch this week, it's the first time I've been and I like it so much I went back with my husband a few days later. It's a fair drive from where I live, but I just love that they serve proper home cooked food in a lovely old pub with a nice atmosphere and good service. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammybSheffield, Owner at The Waggon and Horses, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Tracy M

Thankyou for your positive review on tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you took the time to drive to see us here at The Waggon. We pride ourselves on serving homecooked food of a superior quality and we hope you will visit us again in the near future when we can continue to do so.

Why not fill in a loyalty card on your next visit and then you can receive any special offers or vouchers for the future.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

Samantha Brewis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good gluten free pub food”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Visited for a family Sunday lunch. All lovely food - particularly good is that everything can be gluten free with no fuss made. Desserts were excellent, large portion too.
It's not 'fancy' and has kept it's pub image. Could do with a lick of paint but for the food will definitely go again. It's wholesome & good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank siennamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was lovely, would definitely recommend.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing.The food is absolutely beautiful.It was cooked to perfection,was well presented and there was plenty on the plate.We were a party of 9 and not one of us had any complaints.The service was friendly and there was a welcoming atmosphere
in the whole place.would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elmaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“It's only fair...”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

...to review a restaurant when it's good, as well as when it's disappointing. Today's lunch was very nice. Home made meat and potato pie with mushy peas (special offer at 2 for £9.99), with chips an extra £2 a portion, but plenty for 2 to share. Nice puds at £3.95. All served with a smile.

Very enjoyable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waggon and Horses also viewed

 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Waggon and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing