We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, good food and atmosphere.”

Pizza Express - Gosforth
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Gosforth
Price range: US$0 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time, good food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Went with my family was welcomed and able to sit calmly on a busy night. Good chefs with outstanding good and nice waitresses/waiter good service. Shall be returning very soon.

Helpful?
Thank Collin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Broken glass”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Food average on a quiet night. Service was slow and felt disinterested. To cap the experience my friend's glass was chipped and when removed the waitress returned with the wine poured into a new glass...she failed to comprehend the concept of potential glass contamination. Heartbreaking as I like the chain

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Same as all its other outlets”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Sorry. Nice pizza and salad but totally overpriced especially when we were taking our grandsons there during the day and they had the childrens' menu. The total bill with a couple of glasses of wine was just over the top. To be honest I could have popped a supermarket pizza in the oven and opened a bottle of wine for less than a quarter of the bill.
Great shame because kids love it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank snailspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,270 reviews
785 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

First time ever visitor to a Pizza Express and enjoyed the food; also thought children's menu was quite good (though Pizza size a bit small for a 10 year old). Gluten free options were well explained: only general criticism would be that as a non-cheese eater it would be nice if they had a few more pasta options and, ideally, a few other dishes (but I do realise that is not their standard business model).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
292 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“good food, value and service!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

visited on a Wednesday night and were seated quickly, we had booked but there was lots of tables available. Our order was taken quickly and our food arrived in good time. The starters were delicious and the pizzas were very very good although my spicy pizza wasn't as spicy as I'd expected. This was my first time to any pizza express and I will visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Explorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express - Gosforth also viewed

Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Been to Pizza Express - Gosforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing