We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch takeaway.........superb.”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: @foxinsteeple Is A Friendly 15th Century Village Restaurant And Pub Serving Freshly Prepared Foods, Fine Wines And Cask Marque Ales To Locals And Visitors Alike, All Provided With Your Enjoyment In Mind.
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Sunday lunch takeaway.........superb. Our first takeaway from The Fox and Hounds we heard it was good and we were not disappointed, every bit of it was fantastic and so was my wife’s vegetarian option. Wow, definitely recommend it.
Many thanks for a beautiful Sunday lunch.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank CliffEdge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fox Owner, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you so much for your review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. From Kate and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2020

Went to the Fox & Hounds for their first Chilli Night this evening - fabulous food and amazing prices - and the choice of chilli with chips, or rice, or BOTH!
Outstanding service in an always-friendly atmosphere :-)

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 806kirstyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamFoxA, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed it. Watch out for curry night soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Friendly staff and locals who made us feel at home on 3 visits during a week’s holiday locally. Excellent local ales and beautifully prepared non pretentious pub and Italian menu. Dog friendly.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank poge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamFoxA, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you. Hopefully we’ll see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

We generally pop in here for a few drinks in the evening after long work day, always friendly, always very welcoming. Kate and her staff follow the covid rules strictly, which helps you feel safe.
Last Saturday, we dropped in for lunch. Same warm welcome, same tests and check in, which as I say, eases any concerns. There's a very good selection of drinks, to suit most tastes and served with a smile, which always is pleasing sight.
We ordered our food and sat back to sample our drinks and chat with other patrons.
Our meals then arrived, omg, the largest gammon steak, with two gorgeously cooked eggs on top, with amazing golden yokes arrived, a nice bowl of twice cooked chips as well. The gammon was perfectly cooked, still moist and easy to cut. Believe me, I've been served gammon as tough as leather in places, but this was top drawer. My other half's food was equally as good as mine. To be honest, I was struggling to finish it to be honest, but as it was so delicious I did.
Can fault this pub in anyway, it's super friendly, extremely well run, very professional in every way. The service 1st class, atmosphere is warm, value for money is excellent.
For me it's one of the best pubs around. Definitely be back again and again.
Takeaway Sunday lunch is also so very very good. Always a good choice and great amount of veg.
Long may the Fox serve its community

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Mickey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamFoxA, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Thank you for an amazing review, it makes it all so worthwhile when I hear someone has enjoyed their visit to my pub. Thanks you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

The pub has a lovely atmosphere, all the locals and staff are very friendly, and the food is amazing. A Great selection of Gin & Ales too!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank laurenjessca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamFoxA, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

 
Haverhill, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.