We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out an amazing views”
Review of West Wight Alpacas

West Wight Alpacas
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wellow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an open farm park where you can trek with alpacas and llamas and see all sorts of other farm animals. We have an excellent on farm cafe/bistro and are open seven days a week.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good day out an amazing views”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We took an Alpaca trek from West Wight Alpacas, what an experience. You take the alpacas in a horse box out the the Downs above Alum Bay the views get better and better and you get to know you alpaca better throughout the walk. I had Trigger who had a mischievous side which matched my own and my wife had Ulysses who just wanted to be near the front. Think of the pleasure of dog walking but with a wonderful tempered animal instead. There is one down side the vehicle which takes you can only carry five people and as such we followed blindly in a car not knowing where we were going just chasing a horse box full of alpacas. The other part is that you miss the conversations that go on in the vehicle and so we were a bit left out at times. That didn't spoil the experience though but is something that can be tweeked to make it a perfect experience. When you get back to the site after the trek you get the chance to feed the alpacas. All in all a good day out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    56
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We popped along to see the Alpacas knowing our children would love to see these lovely animals. We intended to book a trek (12.00 per person) but we thought that 48 for 20 minutes was too much. Instead we paid £8 for a wander around the farm and we still got to feed and pet the alpacas and baby goats. We were there for an hour or more and our children (and us) loved the whole thing. It would be nice if the treks were a little cheaper for a family...perhaps a 35.00 family ticket price, and then more people could enjoy the experience. Thank you for a nice morning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank minijudithfromleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alpaca trekking on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thank you so much to Neil, Michele and Lara for a fabulous afternoon trekking across beautiful Headon Down with 4 gorgeous, gentle alpacas, and Rodney the llama! We had a brilliant time, and learnt loads about these lovely animals- the kids thought it was fantastic, and really enjoyed going back to the farm afterwards to feed carrots to the alpacas.
Overall, a brilliant and unusual day out which we won't forget!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alpaca adventure”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect...but in the end it was a fantastic, unususal, interesting and exciting experience! Our pre teen and teenage children walked two hours with those alpacas without a murmer of complaint! The views of Isle of Wight were stunning, Neil and Lara (our guides) were knowledgeable and passionate about alpacas and alpacas themselves were beautiful creatures - soft, fluffy and a little skittish. We all had a lot of fun and learnt a lot.

The West Wight alpaca farm was equally interesting. We learnt about the Suri alpacas, fed them carrots and took lots of photos.

The owners are genuinely warm, welcoming and kind people that want to share their love of Isle of Wight and passion for alpacas with you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Such an enjoyable experience to take an alpaca for a walk! We walked Doughnut and Tiptop with another family, and learnt so much from guide Nicola about these beautiful endearing animals. Collectively fascinating, but their own character very evident. Lovely farm arrangement, friendly,informative staff and good cafe facilities completes the experience. Suitable for any age!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny_hancox23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Wight Alpacas also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to West Wight Alpacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing