We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and fun experience to try with furry friends!”
Review of West Wight Alpacas

West Wight Alpacas
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wellow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an open farm park where you can trek with alpacas and llamas and see all sorts of other farm animals. We have an excellent on farm cafe/bistro and are open seven days a week.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unusual and fun experience to try with furry friends!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a great visit to the West Wight Alpacas last week, having booked in advance to ensure a place on the 40 minute walking experience with an expert guide. We arrived early and enjoyed sitting in the friendly cafe with a hot drink, looking at the interesting alpaca related products available to buy. I especially liked looking at the knitting patterns you could purchase along with the wool, in order to knit your own scarf, hat or jumper! Our guide, Nicole, met us outside the cafe and we walked along to the enclosure where our four legged friends were lazily sat waiting for us. Nicole was an excellent guide, passionate about her job working with alpacas and this came across throughout the tour. At the end we went back to feed the mothers and babies in a nearby field with a tub of carrots, this was great fun and lovely to get so close to such inquisitive and friendly, furry animals. Our walk was great fun, each alpaca had a lovely character and didn't mind being carefully stroked on the neck (but not the head!) It was a blustery afternoon and this certainly slowed our little team of walkers down somewhat but the sunshine helped along with Nicole's gentle encouragement to keep the alpaca's on the right track. It was a super experience which we would thoroughly reccommend to both visitors to the island and locals looking for an interesting birthday present for someone who likes animals. Its great to see a small business thriving and taking the intiative to start something new which clearly people enjoy experiencing. Look out for the cute chickens, rather fat goats, and runner ducks near the cafe as they are also worth a photo or two! Thanks to Nicole and her team for making the experience so memorable for us whilst on holiday on the Isle of WIght. We shall certainly be showing our friends and family the photos.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    56
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really great experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After arriving on the sunny Isle of Wight we were very unsure what to do. We visit regularly with family and wanted something different to do and this hit the spot perfectly.
We found a article in one of the Isle of Wight magazine's, the children were drawn to the fluffy fellows instantly.
So we booked a walk. I must say that even my husband was excited.

The children had got up early ready for there Alpaca walk so early in fact that they just wanted to get there as soon as they could. Which meant no time to make sandwiches.

It was a little bit of a problem to find as the sat nav wasn't really sure. We had been lucky enough that the children spotted the brown signs and we finally found this hidden gem.
I hadn't realised there was a café, which was great as we had arrived an hour before our booked walk. The Menu's were fab, enough choice for a lovely lunch especially for the children. And of course plenty of cakes and ice cream for afters.
The ladies in the café were lovely and greeted us with a "Hello" as soon as we walked in the door.
Lunch was great really tasty and good portions.
It was time for our Alpaca walk, at this point I think I'm more excited than the children.
We met Laura I think that was her name who was our walk leader. After introducing us to the fascinating Alpacas Hugo, Toffee, Tip top and Trigger and having a short talk about how to walk them, we set off. It was just perfect, Laura was full of information and could answer all of our questions about Alpacas and it was lovely to see so much passion in a young lady. We got introduced to the mum's and babies on our way round which was lovely, seeing all the babies playing and drinking from mum. They had such beautiful eyes.
As the walk was finishing Laura said that we could feed the Alpacas carrots. The children were a little nervous but we were reassured that they can't bite as they don't have top teeth.

After working up an apatite we went back to the café for cake and ice cream and the children twisted my arm for a soft toy. We met one of the owners who was also very enthusiastic about his farm and animals and we think its his wife that runs the café.

All in all we had a great day the staff were all really friendly the food was fantastic and of course the Alpacas are just wonderful and so majestic.
I would definitely advice booking a walk and arriving an hour or so before they have other animals which keep the children entertained and also a great lunch menu.

I've never used Trip Advisor before but thought this was definitely worth writing about. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahbanana87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok.....”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It is ok, nothing special. you have to pay two pounds per person to wonder around, which is not worth it as you can see everything from the cafe. Staff in cafe was rude and made us not feel welcome.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and slightly different”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a small site, but definitely worth a visit if one likes animals. There is a Nice cafe, but it is probably not the sort of place where one would need to spend more than half and hour. There are some interesting items to buy, but being Alpaca wool they are quite expensive. There are a lot of animals of various types around, all of which look happy and well cared for. Unfortunately the exception to this was a lone caged bird (inside the cafe), which I never like to see. Others might choose to disagree. The walk itself was the highlight and really interesting. Walking an Alpaca is fun for a while, and we enjoyed feeding them and learning about them. If you don't have a walk the experience is likely to be less enjoyable. Something memorable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is ok for a quick look.
I imagine you have to really be into Alpacas to go on a trek. For the casual visitor they are pretty but a bit disappointing. I don't think that the animals knew they were there to entertain me, how dare they. They just carried on chewing grass with no intention of coming to the fence to amuse us.

I found the place inoffensive but the girls looking after the animals need a bit of customer service training and if they are happy in their work, they need to let their faces know.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Wight Alpacas also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to West Wight Alpacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing