We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder mystery”
Review of Wilton Windmill

Wilton Windmill
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wilton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Set high above the village of Wilton, about 9 miles south east of Marlborough in Wiltshire, Wilton Windmill is the only working windmill in Wessex and still produces wholemeal, stone-ground flour. We are open every year from Easter to the end of September on Sundays and Bank Holidays from 2pm to 5pm when the windmill building is open for guided tours. The shepherd's hut shop, serving refreshments and gifts and providing a seating area, is also open at this time, as are the loos. You can visit the Windmill at any time - there is a picnic area with breathtaking views across to the Downs and the building can be viewed from the outside. Dogs are welcome, but please keep them on a lead and pick up any mess before you leave. The Windmill is run entirely by volunteers from the Wilton Windmill Society, so please make a contribution in the donation box by the gate when you visit or make a donation here on the website when you get home. You can also get involved by volunteering or becoming a member. We hope you enjoy your visit. Please do not leave valuables in your car whilst you visit - thieves are known to operate in the area, which is a real shame, but there you go!
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Fantastic evening. Wilton Windmill is a great location. The views from the windmill were breath taking. The murder mystery event was hilarious the actors did a terrific job. We were unsure of what to expect but we were not disappointed with both the location and the evening as a whole.

Thank 235kazg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beam engine"
in 5 reviews
"great location"
in 3 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"information boards"
in 3 reviews
"guided tour"
in 4 reviews
"avon canal"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"check their website"
in 2 reviews
"sunday afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"tea and cake"
in 2 reviews
"wiltshire countryside"
in 2 reviews
"five floors"
in 3 reviews
"an ice cream"
in 3 reviews
"milled flour"
in 2 reviews
"stone ground"
in 2 reviews
"picnic"
in 9 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2015

The windmill is one of those places you just ought to visit. Rather than it being a lifeless relic of the past, with the help of the volunteers, this is an interesting and active building (impressively it still mills its own flour). It is surrounded by the most beautiful scenery and being on a hilltop the views are amazing.

I can understand why other reviewers balk at the price, we had walked up from Wilton village and just hadn't taken sufficient cash (£48) for all 6 adults in our party to enter so in the end we just settled for tea and cake from the shepherds hut and enjoyed the glorious view!

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexcombers, Manager at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Kevin
Thank you for taking the time to review Wilton Windmill - we are glad you enjoyed the setting and the views, which as you say, are just magnificent. I am concerned that you say the cost of 6 adults was £48 - it should have been £24 as it is £4 entry per adult and children are free.

We have an Open Day (Wind in the Willows) on Saturday 13th June when guided tours will be free and on Sunday 13th September we are open for the national Heritage Open Days weekend when tours will again be free - I do hope you can join us for one of these dates.

Once again, thank you for coming to our lovely windmill and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit, even if you didn't see the inside.

Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

This wasn't open when we visited but you can walk around the gardens, which is worth it just for the views

1  Thank Fatmat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexcombers, Manager at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2015

Thanks for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Wilton Windmill and its site. As you say, the views are just magnificent and so it is worth a visit even when the building isn't open.

Our opening times are on Sundays and Bank Holiday Mondays from Easter through to the end of September every year. We also have an Open Day this year on Saturday 13th June 2015 from 12 noon to 4.30pm.

The building is all in working order and so it is worth making a trip back if you can to have one of our guides take you round - it is very interesting!

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

How amazing that a piece of vintage technology like this is still in full working order - and how amazing that you can visit it, thanks to the efforts of volunteers. Ignore the mean-spirited comments made by earlier reviewers about £8 being too much - it is astonishing that they can keep it going at all. We visited on a hot (19 degrees) Easter Monday and it was busy but all absolutely fine. Like many business people visiting places like this I couldn't resist doing a quick mental calculation on their daily takings. OK, it was a sample of one day, but keeping this stuff in first class condition (which it is) when they can only escort a limited number of small paying groups around must be a bit of a juggling act - I very much doubt it's a cash cow. They have some takings from a little cafe which doubtless helps a lot, so buy a coffee and cake when you're there! As to complaining about the cramped conditions ... what do these people suggest they do? Design and build a different one with more room? Is it really necessary to explain that this was designed as a working piece of machinery in a different time, not as a 21st Century visitor attraction? Amazing. It's not Alton Towers, it's a fantastic piece of genuine history, in a stunningly beautiful setting; it is well looked after and operated by genuine enthusiasts; it is fascinating even if you aren't necessarily train-spotterish about these things (I'm not) and it's a piece of living history. They have done - and continue to do - a superb job and they deserve congratulations, admiration, respect and support for their work. There were young children playing happily on well tended grass, and adults ranging from the merely curious (that was us) to the well-informed all enjoying it on their own level. Thanks so much to those who work on it for their dedication. We thoroughly enjoyed it, and everyone else who was there at the same time seemed to do so, too.

Thank DavidofEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexcombers, Manager at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear David - We are so glad you enjoyed your visit - we think our volunteers are marvelous too and quite simply couldn't do it without them. Thank you for your enthusiasm and support, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited the windmill on a glorious summer's day, kicking things off with a picnic at the foot of the mill as we waited for it to open. There are picnic tables and plenty of room for the kids to run around.

Tickets are sold from a shepherd's hut, which also sells ice cream and sweets - so it may be best to keep the children outside! Adults are charged £4 each, while children are free, so the cost is pretty reasonable for a family group.

The tour guides wait until there are enough members in the party before taking people up, so there may be a short wait, but it is well worth any delay. The guides are very knowledgeable and explain things very well, so they are fun and interesting for adults and children.

The windmill itself has been beautifully restored inside and out, and has some unusual features, having been built later than many other mills, with regulators and other gadgets designed to make the miller's life easier.

There are five floors to explore, each with their own function and bespoke machinery. Everything is on display and hands-on, with nothing roped off or shut away behind glass, and you really come away with a good understanding of the engineering of the mill and the work of a miller.

Combine it with a visit to the nearby Crofton Beam Engine and you have a great day out and a much greater appreciation for our industrial heritage.

(NB: There are some very steep stairs inside the mill so this is not suitable for anyone with a mobility impairment and younger children may need to be carried)

3  Thank Gordon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexcombers, Manager at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Gordon O
We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and do hope you will come back soon. You can picnic at the windmill even when we are closed, so if you are looking for somewhere peaceful with panoramic views, then the windmill will be delighted to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilton Windmill also viewed

 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to Wilton Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing