We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Quite a beautiful sight

We passed Wilton Windmill on a circular walk and it really is stunning. It looks like time has... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
hanp86
,
London, United Kingdom
Proper day out!

The village Wilton is a quintessential English country village with a great pub. You can even buy... read more

Reviewed 13 February 2019
_sue_mac62
,
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Read all 67 reviews
  
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
45
14
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
14
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beam engine information boards working condition check their website sunday afternoon guided tour lovely spot avon canal open days bank holiday tea and cake well worth a visit beautiful location five floors an ice cream lovely piece of history milled flour
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Wonderful working windmill,in a beautiful location.Windmill is open for guided tours from Easter to September on Sundays and bank holidays.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank matthecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexcombers, Helper at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

So glad you enjoyed our beautiful windmill. It is just as lovely out of season as it is during the summer months - and the views at this time of the year in this splendid autumn sunshine are amazing! Thank you for your review - we do hope you are able to visit us during the open season in 2019, when we will hopefully have our granary installed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Quiet and relaxing stop with the wife. Lucky with weather. Better than being in local towns for a change.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldbakers, Committee Member at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Glad you and your wife enjoyed it, Ian. Our windmill certainly is a peaceful spot, and the site is open to visitors all year round. Hope that you can make it back when we have the windmill open for guided tours, Sundays and Bank Holidays from Easter to the end of September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We visited the Windmill many years ago when we were new to crusing the K&A and have always wanted to return. It was great to find it open on Monday. We had a really interesting tour around and learned masses about the history of the Mill and the impact of the building of the canal on milling in the area. The views are stunning if you make it up the almost vertical "ladders"! The tea was very welcome too.
This is a must and could be easily combined with a visit to the Beam Engines at Crofton which were in steam on Monday (a pleasant short walk away).

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank barbaraB224FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldbakers, Committee Member at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

So glad that you enjoyed your visit, and that our volunteer guides were able to take you through the interesting history of our windmill. As you say, the histories of Crofton Beam Engines and Wilton Windmill are intimately linked - and they also make a classic walk in our beautiful countryside. Thank you for your kind comments, which are much appreciated by volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Living in the village, we normally dont make it past the swan, but we love this windmill. always lit at night, beautiful.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ellierose891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldbakers, Committee Member at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Well walked! Especially in this heat - but there again, another excuse to drop into the Swan on the way home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

They put on a wind in the willows themed family fete with lots of traditional stalls. My 6 year old was desperate to do the windmill tour and it was one of the best things weve done with him. He was fascinated with the workings and the story of the mill and ended up helping the tour guides manually move the sails at the end to take down the bunting. I just sat back and enjoyed the spectacular views. If you have a 6 to 10 year old interested in building things and engineering then this is a must. Look out on the website for working days. You wont be disappointed.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NaomiN205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldbakers, Committee member at Wilton Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Naomi, we are just so happy to hear that our Wind in the Willows day worked out so well for you - and especially for your son. As well as the Open Day, and our regular Sunday opening, we do special visits for schools. And they very much bear out your comments about the appeal of industrial archaeology for primary school kids - they are truly fascinated by the workings of our windmill.
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Come again soon; better still, persuade your son's school to book a trip!

Kind regards,
James Arnold-Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews