We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely island, simple, with wonderful snorkelling.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our second island we have been to the first in 2007 being Maayafushi and it is so difficult not to compare the two but each island has its own personality so I will do my best to write an impartial review.

We had a wonderful stay at Biyadhoo (April 2012). I apologise now if this turns out to be a bit of an essay! We had read many reviews so had a pretty good idea of what to expect with regard to accommodation and facilities.

We flew British Airways and had no complaints about the flight the attendants were always on hand and we preferred the direct flight as to stopping at Dubai, which we have done before. At the airport we only had to wait about 30 mins until we boarded the transfer boat to Biyadhoo on the way we were surprised to come across a pod of about five whales, unfortunately I don’t know what they were, but great to see and what a great start to a holiday.

On arrival we were greeted with lovely cold towels to freshen up and a fresh coconut which was greatly appreciated, a bit of form filling later and we were taken straight to our room on the top floor with a balcony which was located in the first block on the west side, nearest the bar with a nice beach just a short walk through the trees.

The rooms as has been said many times are very basic and reminded us a little of 2/3 star self-catering accommodation in Greece, especially the bathroom but on a tropical island, However the rooms are kept lovely and clean, everything worked and we had beautiful bed decorations left most nights thanks to the wonderful job of Saeed. Our only complaint would be that the mattress was incredibly hard, we’re not usually picky on this sort of thing but it did get a little uncomfortable. But we do not go away to spend hours in the room and we fully aware of how basic they were so there was no disappointment at all.

In the restaurant there was no problem with the food not an amazing selection but there was always something to eat such as soup of the day, pasta, a curry or two and a selection of rice, meat in various sauces, vegetables. There is a salad bar and lots of lovely fresh bread, my favourite being the cheese topped ones. Again a good selection of deserts to choose from. Breakfast is the usual pastries, fruit, chicken sausage, beef bacon, beans and a chef cooking eggs any way you liked. Lunch was pretty much the same set up as dinner. The chefs always had a smile on their faces and our waiter was very efficient.

The bar was a nice place to relax in the evening with a sand floor and the staff soon get to know what you drink, no real entertainment so to speak, one night we had a singer and guitarist and another was a bodu beru night.

Finally the beach was fabulous however the west side was very busy at times so lacked the Robinson Crusoe feeling, not a complaint though as this had been written about so again it was expected. You cannot walk around the island on the beach as there is a boat yard and on the east side there were more small coves than a beach and some areas on this side did not have direct access to the beach or sea and what looked like a concrete barrier to protect against erosion which would be slippy if you tried to get in or out just there. Snorkelling was great we preferred the passage to the right of the jetty (No 7) where we saw a turtle, moray eel, rays, sharks and as usual plenty of colourful fish.

Just one thing I would like to say is please don’t hurt the coral or any sea life whist snorkelling we came across a piece of coral which had ‘graffiti’ on. Why I ask?

Anyway to sum up this long review If you are considering Biyadhoo it is a wonderful natural resort no heirs and graces and down to earth, go with an open mind and you will have a fab time. One day we will return but there are many more islands to try yet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pushka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I were found being discriminated at the resort during our stay. These were clearly shown by the way which the staff behaved, whenever we seek for services or making enquiries. It happened from the reception, dinning room, maintenance, water sport center etc.Unless you are prepared or willing to be humiliated, this is surely not a place for you to consider to have your holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SKYONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a 3 star island with 3 star rooms. However, everything else is 5 star! House reef, beach, food, dive shop are all great! House reef near the pier is very close to the beach and easy to swim out to~ for swimming purposes, the other side is very suitable with clear water! perfect for swimmers of all ages!

I paid 3 star prices for a 3 star island. The value is great! I am hoping to return soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2 corners of the block is bigger and more spacious~ recommend taking this room for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alanc929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Wow if you have never been to the Maldives and we had not been before then it will blow you away with beauty, and the level of relaxation. Biyadhoo is and older accommodation style Island as written in many previous reviews but the rooms are spotlessly clean, and the grounds around the Island are kept in magnificent order, but you are not here for the rooms, it is the water and the available reef that makes this place special, we snorkelled till our hearts content, we rested on the beach bed's and ate till we had had our fill, the food is nice but predictable about the dishes put out we stayed for 4 nights but ideally 6 nights would be the go, if you are move around kind of people and want to have a time out for relaxing. We cannot wait to go back at some time in the future, the guests who stay on this island are from who we met all very down to earth people who are there to enjoy and relax on a wonderful Island.

Room Tip: Ask for the first block room's 1-16 there are next to the best part of the reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was the 2nd part of our holiday and the one I was most looking forward to as it was our 1st visit to the Maldives--was not dissappointed! Yes the rooms are very tired and need doing up but that would then push the price up and how long do you spend in your room?
We were greeted by Nic (who works for the company that own the island) and the porters with the Task Force wheelbarrows to transport our cases to our rooms.
We were taken to the reception and greeted with warm flannels and lovely cool fruit juices. Check in was painless and by 10.00am we were on the beach!!

I had read that the west side was the best to be on so I had mailed beforehand and asked for a ground floor room on the west side which is what we got. You walk out of your french doors at the back onto the sand pathway directly onto the beach--what a wonderful picture to behold!!! Beautiful white 24sand and crystal clear sea as far as the eye can see and then the deep blue of the house reef. If you are like myself and not a confident swimmer this is the place to be as you can go out as far as you want and feel safe and you will see all sorts of fish etc while out there. I did learn how to snorkell which was the best thing ever as I saw so much and on my last day was brave enough to go to the reef and just peer over the drop--wow scarey but oh so wonderful!!!

If you are looking for flash bars , swimming pools etc forget it as its not on Biyadhoo, what you do get is constant attention from the staff--your own waiter for your stay ( thank you Muntha for looking after us and knowing exactly what we wanted as soon as we came through the restaurant door., your room and towels checked and changed if need be twice a day , new beach towels left in your room each night.

The food is good you dont get lots of choices as it is only a small resort but what you get is always good and tasty and the chefs are always at hand to help you if you are not sure whats in the dishes!!!

The down side are the mozzies and other little nibblers but you deal with it and I would adfvise that ytou take a lilo to put on your sunbed if you suffer with a dodgy back--I had read this so took ours and it was the best thing we did!!

On a whole we really cannot fault this little gem at all, it has given us the bug to go again if not back to Biyadhoo def to try another one but its finding one that is un-pretentious like Biyadhoo so that you are totally at ease.

Must mention Zoe the kuoni rep who was always there if you needed her did not mind being interrupted at meal times or on her days off, bless her she took my hubby out on the reef for his first time out there and wa sso patient with him until he got the feel of it all. Sadly Zoe is only there for another month I do hope they find a good replacement for her.

Thank you to everybody on the island for helping to make our stay so perfect it was absolutely wonderful and so are all of you!!

Room Tip: West side of island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank kentmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to Biyadhoo and it was wonderful! Yes, as the other reviews say the rooms are tired and in need of a lick of paint but they are kept clean by the great room boys and who needs a great room when you have such a fantastic island to enjoy. The beach is beautiful and the sea is amazing! We saw the most stunning fish, eagle rays, a turtle, octopus, moray eels, sharks and dolphins. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff can't do enough for you, we had the same waiter as last time Monir, he was fantastic. The bar staff do a great job running round after everyone and remember your room number and your favourite tipple after the first day! We did a couple of boat trips, a sunset fishing trip and a snorkelling trip which were very good. A great holiday on a great little island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlisonHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

First trip to Maldives for us - we have booked 4 nigths on Biyadhoo and maybee our expectations was a little more than a outdated hotel on a really beautifull island. The room was clean but very tired - and could really need a makeover.
The wauw effect was totally missing - it could have been a old hotel anywhere in the world.
The beach and the snorkling was great - the restaurant very big and maybe not so cosy. But good food and service from the staff. The bar was cosy- but very busy and maybe to small for so many guests.
After 2 days they offered us a upgrade to their sister hotel Makunudu - and off we go.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biyaadhoo Island
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,515 reviews
23.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,794 reviews
6.9 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,102 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,235 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biyadhoo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyadhoo Island Resort

Address: South Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Biyaadhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biyaadhoo Island
Price Range: £131 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Biyadhoo Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from the airport by speedboat, a tropical haven is enclosed within the turquoise folds of the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the island of Biyadhoo offers a fascinating glimpse of the simple, yet breath-taking beauty of Maldives. Fringed by a crystalline lagoon and powdery white sandy beaches, Biyadhoo is blessed with lush tropical vegetation and famed to have the best house reef in the Maldives. Popular among the diving and snorkeling enthusiasts, the island provides peace and tranquility to the weary soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Biyadhoo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyadhoo Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Biyadoo Island Hotel
Hotel Biyadoo Island
Biyadoo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing